Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 22, 2014, 10:27:54 AM
Home Search Search Login Register

+  Pet Goldfish - Aquarium Forum Community
|-+  Aquarium
| |-+  Tank and Equipment
| | |-+  Ammonia problems
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Ammonia problems  (Read 1333 times)
Elliriyanna
Full Member
***

Karma: 6
Posts: 167


Ammonia problems
« on: August 07, 2010, 05:52:20 PM »

Hi Smiley No matter what I do it seems I have an ammonia problem it stays .25-.50 ppm and I'm doing 15% water changes every other day and using amquel+ which removes ammonia nitrites and nitrates. Should I try changing the filter even though its still cycling?
Logged
Hanna
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 257
Posts: 3108


Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2010, 06:43:52 PM »

Add plenty of beneficial bacteria to your filter or into your prepared water, they will settle in the filter substrate.
Rinse the filter in "old" tankwater for now to get rid of the poo and decomposing plant material.

Those conditioners don't really "remove" nitrogens, they "lock them up", so they are non toxic to fish, but you still will have readings. At the beginning I did use 'AmmoLock" by API, there it sais on the bottle that testing still will show positive.
I kept doing waterchanges every single day combined with adding PLENTY, PLENTY of beneficial bacteria, and after 3 - 4 weeks now all is fine. I only change once a week now about 15 %, every 3-4 weeks I siphon the gravel and then there is automatically a bigger waterchange, about 25%. Also I add bacteria with every single waterchange.

Hope this helps, Elli Wink
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2010, 06:30:51 AM »

Don't ever change the filter media when the tank is cycling. You should only, and I mean ONLY, do that when the system is completely cycled, and the bacteria are colonizing the gravel and everything. And if you're using filter pads in your pump, change one at a time (out of two). That will minimize the "shock" of the sudden decrease in bacteria.

Other than that, just follow Hanna's advice, there's nothing more to it Smiley
Logged
Hanna
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 257
Posts: 3108


Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2010, 06:48:58 AM »

Nossie, I didn't say to Elli to change the filter media, I said to rinse it in old tankwater just to get rid of excess poo and stuff. The majority of beneficial bacteria will stay there.
Logged
Elliriyanna
Full Member
***

Karma: 6
Posts: 167


Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2010, 08:25:09 AM »

its been like 5 weeks now and I'm still having ammonia problems And i'm doing everything I've been told. Nitrates are always fine... They just produce so much waste. And I'm shipping them off this coming week
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2010, 04:20:12 PM »

Hanna: And I didn't say that you did Wink She asked if she should change, so I answered her question.
Logged
skrimp
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 1


Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2010, 04:44:30 PM »

what size is your tank?
Logged
Elliriyanna
Full Member
***

Karma: 6
Posts: 167


Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2010, 06:27:37 PM »

ten gallon but the fish are being rehomed tuesday and I have to get the ammonia under control before I put my Betta in it.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2010, 03:26:49 AM »

I think the ammonia might calm down once the fish are out. You could let the tank "rest" so the bacteria can settle in peace. There's a huge difference in waste between two goldfish and one betta Wink
Logged
Elliriyanna
Full Member
***

Karma: 6
Posts: 167


Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2010, 08:20:18 AM »

true ... I am not putting Tatsu in it until I get the parameters just right for my little guy. I'm going to feed the tank til it finally cycles and levels out
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2010, 03:46:14 AM »

Maybe you should clean it well when taking out the goldfish? Some bacteria will still be left after that, the difference is that most of the dirt would go away Smiley
Logged
Elliriyanna
Full Member
***

Karma: 6
Posts: 167


Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2010, 11:17:27 AM »

well I was going to remodel the tank. And I dont want to re cycle it. I dont want their waste in there but I cant get it out. I havent gotten a gravel vacuum yet and with college next week ... I cant focus solely on the fish though I'm still getting it all taken care of i'm just busy right now and need to save money ... What other than vacuuming could get all the waste out?
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #12 on: August 11, 2010, 04:34:23 AM »

Then, there's no other way to do so. Most of it will stay there no matter how you'd be digging around in the gravel to try and suck up the dirt with the hose so... if you don't want to take it down and clean it all up, then you'll have to leave the goldfishes' waste there.
Logged
Elliriyanna
Full Member
***

Karma: 6
Posts: 167


Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #13 on: August 11, 2010, 08:49:23 AM »

well it just needs a good rinse out with a hose doesnt it. ... We'll see ... Sorry my mind is preoccupied ...
Logged
Hanna
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 257
Posts: 3108


Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #14 on: August 11, 2010, 04:55:20 PM »

Get the water out in a bucket without stirring it up too much. Then wash the gravel in it.
Hose the empty tank and get rid of the poo. Put the gravel back in. Let the old tank water settle so all rest of poo and dirt can sink to the bottom. Use some scoops from the surface Wink this will avoid to start a full cycle again. Make sure pH and temp is adjusted for Tatsu.  Cheesy
Logged
Elliriyanna
Full Member
***

Karma: 6
Posts: 167


Re: Ammonia problems
« Reply #15 on: August 11, 2010, 05:40:44 PM »

well I have to get a heater since mine is flawed and PH will be fine ... its easier to just let them adjust.

I'll try doing that Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]  
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Page created in 0.21 seconds with 16 queries.