Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 18, 2014, 04:41:23 AM
Home Search Search Login Register

+  Pet Goldfish - Aquarium Forum Community
|-+  Aquarium
| |-+  Health and Illness
| | |-+  My city Brita filtered water high in Nitrites :(
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: My city Brita filtered water high in Nitrites :(  (Read 1696 times)
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


My city Brita filtered water high in Nitrites :(
« on: October 22, 2010, 04:26:25 PM »

I've been doing water changes since this morning and basically the entire tank has been replaced. What am I doing wrong. I've used the cycle product, ammo lock and now according to nutrafin's Nitrite test I've added aquarium salt to help try and reduce the high Nitrites. Ammonia reads 0.50 and pH is 6.5 since adding dissolved aquarium salt (2 level tbsp in 10 gallons) I hope you wont be upset with me since I keep having issues with the darn cycling of this small tank. Mr. Tailer sends his biggest fishy kisses for any help you might be able to share.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2010, 08:37:49 PM by April » Logged
Hanna
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 257
Posts: 3108


Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2010, 04:47:37 PM »

Hi April,

no we are not upset, don't worry. Try to help, just brainstorming what could be wrong....

Hm, personally I am not a big friend of Ammo Lock. It sais it locks Ammonia and converts it into a non toxic form. But at the same time it gives you Ammonia readings. The good bacteria will still convert it to Nitrites. Those ones being through the roof now is a sign that your tank is in the middle of cycling. When those ones go down Nitrates should show.

Now How high is your reading of Nitrites?

What I'd do instead of cleaning the tank all the time add beneficial bacteria every single day for at least one week and let it find their home. They will settle mainly in the filter and some in the gravel (substrate)... and of course with every water change.

Can you get "Stability' there in Canada? It contains those beneficial bacteria and it is used to avoid "new tank syndrome". According to me I believe it is the better choice compared to StressZyme.

I'm just wondering why are you stil using salt? Is fishie sick? Just mentioning because goldfish are freshwater fish and IMO salt should only be used to treat illness. And sometimes as a tonic, not every time when you do a waterchange. But there are different opinions about this.
According to pH: goldies can take a lot as long as it doesn't go up and down like a yoyo all the time. 6.5 is a bit low for me, not far away that fishies will have too acidic water and start to dart arround. ( Acidosis ) I use those pH neutralizer blocks to keep it stable ( around 7.2 )

Basically what I think is wrong is the "over cleaning" because the beneficial bacteria are destroyed and cannot settle.

Hope this helps Wink
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2010, 04:55:20 PM »

Hi Hanna Smiley

I didn't clean the tank but changed out almost all the water when discovering how high the Nitrite was this morning. At the moment here are the readings for everything
Nitrite = 1.8
pH = 6.5
Ammonia = 0.50
double dose Nutrafin Cycle added as per instructions
used water conditioner for all new water added
2 tbsp aquarium salt added to 15 gallons
temp 75 degrees
full aeration with bubble stones
feeding reduced to half of normal
haven't checked Nitrates at this point as more concerned about if my fish will survive all these changes in Nitrites. Ammonia has been treated with Ammo Lock.

I added the salt as it was suggested by the instruction in the Nitrite test kit to aid in lowering the levels.
Logged
Hanna
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 257
Posts: 3108


Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2010, 05:08:24 PM »

Ah, ok, I see... perhaps I learned sth now, that salt lowers Nitrites Wink I didn't know that... chemistry is amazing ...

Ok, in this case I believe it was wise to do a water change. Keep adding Nutrafin Cycle every day, I assume it is much the same like Stability ?
Monitor the Nitrites, change 50% of water if necessary every (2nd) day. Nitrates will start to show too. If they are higher than 20ppm, continue with your water changes.

Most important is though to add those beneficial bacteria.

How is Mr. Tailer doing?

Other than that you've done the right things IMO
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2010, 05:16:58 PM »

Oh thanks so much for the support in this matter Hanna. Mr. Tailer is doing ok I just peaked around the corner and he is picking up gravel and spitting it out in disgust I think since he didn't get his usual gourmet meal. That is normal behaviour isn't it? About the salt, I don't know the details about the chemistry behind it except that it has something to do with osmotic pressure too...read that somewhere. Anyway once I change a large portion of the water tonight again, I will add more of that cycle stuff for sure. I read that you can't over do it with that and it shouldn't be harmful.
Logged
Hanna
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 257
Posts: 3108


Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2010, 05:29:36 PM »

Lovely to hear Mr. Tailer is ok, and yes this is very normal behavoiur. Ours do it all the time.

I am not sure if I'd change the water twice a day... or did I misunderstand?
Once a day is fine, about 50% and yes, add those beneficial bacteria, this is the main thing.

I don't know about the salt details either, I may investigate about this.
But just out of my tummy-feeling I think I'd rather don't use it as much..... Undecided, I dunno in this case, to be honest, so maybe Nossie, Andrea or Mindemae know sth about this issue.  Hmmmmm, scratching my head and got wooden splinters under my finger nails, LOL
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2010, 06:51:04 PM »

No you understood correctly, I've had to change out almost all the water today and just did another reading and it is in the danger range again at almost 3.0 now, the horror! So I have to change more again or he'd be sitting in that all night long  Shocked
« Last Edit: October 22, 2010, 08:37:29 PM by April » Logged
Hanna
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 257
Posts: 3108


Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2010, 06:58:20 PM »

OMG, this is so strange.

Did you test your tap water? Hope there is nothing in there.... Shocked
your tests are they liquid ones? Or paper strips?
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2010, 07:21:06 PM »

I will go test the tap water but yes this is mental. I am using Nutrafin liquid tests for Nitrites (2 bottles in kit) and API Ammonia liquid test be right back...
« Last Edit: October 22, 2010, 08:38:35 PM by April » Logged
Mindemae
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 256
Posts: 2458



Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2010, 07:23:13 PM »

April,
I real think if Mr. tailer is acting fine, but you are showing a high reading of nitrite that it is a false one and you should do nothing. MotherNature will soon correct the problem with helpful bacteria.  However, if he is stressed consider 1) changing some water to dilute the nitrite, 2) adding ammonia-absorbing chips to the filter media such as zeolite, 3) add a bit more ammonia beneficial abateria to the filter media, or, 4) adding 1 tsp of aquarium salt per gallon of water to neutrilize the toxicity of the nitrite.(Salt DOESN'T remove nitrite, it only makes it less toxic).
I agree with Hanna, the more you fiddle with the water the more time it is going to take to cycle.  
AND 1 further note: DO NOT ADD ZEOLITE TOTHE FILTER IF YOU ARE GOING TO USE THE SALT)  The salt will "clease" the zeolite so ammonia will leech back into the water.  My sister uses that Nutrifin bacteria and it gave her a real high reading on the nitrites so I am thinking it is a false reading. If you feel you have to change the water a bit and can't wait only change the most 10% at a time until the tank is cycled which could be another few weeks.  You don't start doing regular water changes until the tank has cycled all the way! Smiley
Good Luck, keep us posted!
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2010, 07:24:34 PM »

OMG its the tap water filtered thru the Brita device!!! Now what the heck am I supposed to do  Huh Tested straight out of the tap and it is much lower so back to another change.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2010, 07:28:45 PM by April » Logged
Mindemae
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 256
Posts: 2458



Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2010, 07:30:42 PM »

I think if you are going to use your tap water then buy a different water conditioner.  Do you have a petstore near you that sells Aqueon.  Aqueon water conditioner neutrilizes ammonia and nitrites.
I guess you could buy bottled water.  Nitrites aren't as harmful as ammonia is altho it is still somewhat toxic.
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2010, 07:35:46 PM »

I can check tomorrow as it is almost closing time here but I do have Top Fin water conditioner. Could I use that in the meantime?
Logged
Mindemae
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 256
Posts: 2458



Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2010, 07:50:04 PM »

Yeah I would put water condtioner in.  It will help at least coat the fish and protect his slime coat.  It also will remove chorine or chloromines. Smiley
Logged
Mindemae
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 256
Posts: 2458



Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #14 on: October 22, 2010, 07:52:07 PM »

Well if you have topfin water condtioner then you must get it from Petsmart.  Petsmart sells Aqueon products. Smiley
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: Please help Nitrites thru the roof :(
« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2010, 08:30:17 PM »

Thank you Mindemae  Smiley I just switched out 6 gallons and treated it precisely with the water conditioner, waited 30 minutes and scooped my squishy friend Mr. Tailer back up and into it. He seems brighter already! Tested everything again and now are as follows;

Nitrites = 0.8
Ammonia = 0.50 still but rendered non toxic
pH = 7.0

What a nightmare! I never dreamed that the water flowing thru a Brita tap filter (that is new) would contain such extreme chemistry changes. The past few weeks the city water has been loaded higher than the norm so thank you Hanna for asking as I simply assumed it was good quality coming thru.  Grin And I will pick up the Aqueon as you suggested Mindemae  Grin
Logged
Andrea
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 163
Posts: 1059



Re: My city Brita filtered water high in Nitrites :(
« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2010, 10:35:11 PM »

You should also be waiting 24 hours before testing your water after a water change especially with the big ones you are doing and the amount of times you are doing it, you are most likely getting false readings and that could be your problem.

I would calm down on the water changes, stick with the beneficial bacteria and just let it all settle. If Mr. Tailer is fine I wouldn't stress. I know how you feel as I went through a similar problem but once I calmed down with the water changes it got better Smiley

So please just let it cycle because it will eventually and of course keep a close eye on Mr. Tailer but really he sounds like he is acting perfect so that is great Cheesy

 
Logged
Hanna
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 257
Posts: 3108


Re: My city Brita filtered water high in Nitrites :(
« Reply #17 on: October 22, 2010, 10:48:28 PM »

Well, I just coudn't think of anything else anymore  but test the tap water.

Glad Mr. Tailer is fine Grin.

Now it is important to let it settle, monitor the water chemistry and only do waterchanges when necessary. And always add those beneficial bacteria. Smiley


Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: My city Brita filtered water high in Nitrites :(
« Reply #18 on: October 23, 2010, 09:11:22 AM »

I've got a few things to add. Salt is protecting your fish from nitrites by protecting the gills during osmosis. Fish get brown gills when poisoned by nitrite and their blood will turn brown as well, you'd notice if you'd decapitate the fish and see brown blood ooze out from near the spinal cord. Although salt is used when nitrites spike it's something that should only be used during emergencies!! Don't leave the salt there for days, even though it helps the fish during nitrite spikes, it slows down the nitrsomonas, the beneficial bacteria that convert nitrite into nitrate.

So, if I was you, I'd follow these people's advice and chill with the water changes, you need to let things settle in that tank if you want to get somewhere Smiley And stop adding anything except beneficial bacteria and water conditioner. It's sometimes better to keep things as simple as possible and it'll solve itself! At most I'd test the water every day, and do at most 50% water changes whenever needed Smiley And remember to always test it BEFORE water changes and the day after.

Good luck Smiley
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: My city Brita filtered water high in Nitrites :(
« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2010, 05:10:33 PM »

You do realize Hanna that you probably saved my little fish friend by suggesting that I test the tap water. Today after yesterdays change of 6 gallons, the nitrites are 0.1 and for the heck of it I tested that brita water again and it is off the charts turning the test sample dark purple! I'm throwing the thing out as I can't bring myself to drink it when the stuff coming directly out of the tap is so much better! Nossie I figured out that the tank I have is actually 10 gallons so in regards to the 2 tbsp of aquarium salt that I added yesterday, and having changed 6 gallons of that 10 in the tank, will the remaining salt be an issue for my fishie? I am so grateful to have joined this forum or my little friend might have perished. Thank you all for your wonderful support and advice  Grin
Logged
Hanna
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 257
Posts: 3108


Re: My city Brita filtered water high in Nitrites :(
« Reply #20 on: October 23, 2010, 05:31:04 PM »

Hi April,
thank you for your kind words.
I am shocked about those Brita filters, If I were you I'd write to that company or even make it public ? It just makes me angry how many people think they do sth good for themselves but in the end it is loaded with sh...t  Angry

I am so glad Mr. Tailer is doing fine.  Grin

The remaining salt shouldn't be an issue at all and with the next waterchange in a few says all should be fine.
Logged
Andrea
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 163
Posts: 1059



Re: My city Brita filtered water high in Nitrites :(
« Reply #21 on: October 24, 2010, 12:54:32 AM »

I already said that  Angry Hahaha nah I'm just kidding about the angry face Tongue I don't really get those tap water filter thingies, I'm fine just drinking tap water and now I'm even more convinced after those test results of yours  Shocked
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: My city Brita filtered water high in Nitrites :(
« Reply #22 on: October 24, 2010, 04:14:48 AM »

April: Just to continue a bit on the answer to the question about salt, I could tell you that always when you're done treating with salt, you can remove it gradually by changing water Smiley 50% at a time. The salt will be left in such a weak concentration that it won't bother the fish or anything else after already one or two water changes Smiley
Logged
fantailer
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 122
Posts: 1629



Re: My city Brita filtered water high in Nitrites :(
« Reply #23 on: November 16, 2010, 06:36:54 AM »

Aren't their drops that take away amonia, nitrates, chlorine and chlorinames. I use them and all the chlorine is gone in minutes! Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]  
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Page created in 0.162 seconds with 17 queries.