Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 23, 2014, 03:36:54 AM
Home Search Search Login Register

+  Pet Goldfish - Aquarium Forum Community
|-+  Aquarium
| |-+  General Goldfish Discussion
| | |-+  How to cycle a new tank with fish
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]
Author Topic: How to cycle a new tank with fish  (Read 3918 times)
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #180 on: June 12, 2012, 03:52:48 AM »

The black spots from ammonia burns are like bruises, the more severe they are, the longer they take to go away Wink Goldfish show these spots as signs of healing since they can get them from wounds or scratches as well.

That's a pretty tank! But maybe you shouldn't get another tank until you need it, wait 'til this one settles down and you're sure you want to get Bertie a friend. It wouldn't be very nice for the 55 to stand in the garage and collect dust and bugs :C
I'm not currently looking for any tanks, so I don't have much to share on the matter. My goldfish tank was bought as new with a huge bunch of free things and discounts, whereas the Platy tank was bought used from a friend Wink
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #181 on: June 12, 2012, 03:54:05 AM »

Hi Sajacobs, I'd be interested to know what make the pond is?

Over here we have Blagdon Affinity Ponds, but all are too small for goldfish.
Currently I'm contemplating having a large tank indoors on the floor and treating it like a pond, a tank that holds 700- 800 litres or so could be classed as a mini pond? I hope?

As for second hand tanks, I've not looked into it hugely myself, but generally I would say, if you see a tank you like, go out and see it in person -take someone you know with you-, check the tank over yourself, that way you'll see cracks or find scratches. Don't take the money with you to the house either, if you decide once you've seen the tank, that you want to take it, then take the seller to a bank and do the transaction there Smiley

I know Gumtree has some great advice on buying online, I think it's where I got most of the above from!
(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #182 on: June 12, 2012, 04:21:16 AM »

Quote
Currently I'm contemplating having a large tank indoors on the floor and treating it like a pond, a tank that holds 700- 800 litres or so could be classed as a mini pond? I hope?

Yes, and no. A glass tank might not be safe to stand on the floor. I assume you'd put some foam or something under it though, which would be necessary for a tank that large, but I don't think the floor would lend the same support that a tank stand would/should. Why not just get the obnoxiously huge tank and keep it as a tank? I don't think it's the difference between a pond or tank that matters, it's the size Smiley (Of course, fish love being outside and getting constant bugs for treats..) Not to mention the fish might get more stressed from the vibrations in the floor, items might fall on the tank or whatever, stressful and unpleasant nonetheless.
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 822



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #183 on: June 12, 2012, 04:44:49 AM »

Quote
Any tips on buying a used tank.  I see one close to me and I"m so tempted to buy it.  55 gallon with metal stand....$100 or best offer.

Nice tank,Sounds like a bargain, remember to cost up all the ancillary equipment though E.G. you are going to need to upgrade the filtration, hood, light system, gravel, plants, background, bogwood, ornaments.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2012, 04:47:48 AM by scrivens345 » Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #184 on: June 12, 2012, 08:03:09 PM »

Thanks for the recommendations on the upgrade.  You guys are right....I need a plan...which is find out what the cost is in the store and take it from there.  Then I'll know how much things cost and what more will be coming out of my pocket.

This is sort of the fun part away....planning and dreaming....

What has happened to me?Huh  You guys are getting me addicted Grin  Recommending snails and fish and plants.  It feels like a slippery slope....going down....aaaahhhhh. Cheesy

Skwishee
I'm on vacation in 10 days.  I will drive over to the pet store and pick the owners brain on the pond thing.  I'll take pics and measurements...so you can get the whole scoop.

Logged
fantailer
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 123
Posts: 1633



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #185 on: June 13, 2012, 05:06:24 AM »

Multi-Tank Sydrome join the club!
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 822



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #186 on: June 13, 2012, 07:45:10 AM »

eyeing up a 450L myself...repeat after me "Just say no....".."Just say no...."..."Just say no...."..."Just say no...."
Logged
Vicloz2006
Full Member
***

Karma: 35
Posts: 558



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #187 on: June 13, 2012, 08:47:55 AM »

I am currently using that mantra. I have big plans for the future and my fish are fully included. A big pond and lots of tanks everywhere. Welcome to the fishy club Sajacobs.
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #188 on: June 13, 2012, 09:11:23 AM »

I didn't think I would be so taken by this hobby.  This tank syndrome....yeap Im showing signs of it....especially the biggest symptom....where can I put my old tank and this new tank?   Shocked

I just want to clarify.....two fancy goldfish need 30 gallons? Or is it more?

How many gallons for a bristlenose?


Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 822



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #189 on: June 13, 2012, 12:51:51 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)

Fancy Goldfish:
30 gallons (36 US gallons, 140 litres) for the first fish with an extra 10 gallons (12 US gallons, 45 litres) for each extra fish. The tank needs to have a minimum length of 3 feet to allow swimming room.

 for two Fancies:50 US gallons to be on the safe side....you could easily add a couple of bristlenoses and half-a-dozen snails without over-stocking..

.something like  a RIO180(for 2 fancies) or a Fluval Roma 200(could hold 3 fancies)
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #190 on: June 13, 2012, 01:26:30 PM »

Thanks for the clarification. Smiley

So 55 gallons it will be Cheesy

I'm glad I asked....I thought it was total of 30 for two. 

Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #191 on: June 13, 2012, 02:19:43 PM »

Is it just me being happy with the one tank I have? xD
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #192 on: June 13, 2012, 02:25:15 PM »

Did you have an inoculation for the tank syndrome?  If so tell me where to get it. Cheesy
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #193 on: June 13, 2012, 02:32:31 PM »

Haha seems like it nossie! I'm quite happy with just the snails and 90litre tank, the only reason I have crazy plans is to give lucky a better home Smiley although I do like to dream about different tanks and what set ups I could have someday... Cheesy
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #194 on: June 13, 2012, 03:41:00 PM »

Well, it's pretty easy... Smiley Get yourself a tank larger than 200 liters and change water every single week using buckets... Wink
After one and a half year you get pretty satisfied with just the one... xD
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 822



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #195 on: June 13, 2012, 04:11:50 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
Thanks for the clarification. Smiley

So 55 gallons it will be Cheesy

I'm glad I asked....I thought it was total of 30 for two. 


YOU could KEEP GOLDIES IN A SMALLER TANK PROVIDING:
 A) THERE IS ADEQUATE SWIM ROOM (LENGTH)
 B) SUFFICIENT SURFACE AREA FOR GAS-EXCHANGE
 C) FREQUENT WATER CHANGES

GENERALLY SPEAKING , THE LARGER THE TANK, THE EASIER IT IS
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #196 on: June 13, 2012, 04:28:23 PM »

30 gallons is what? 113 litres?
To be honest surely it would be hard to find a tank that size, that isn't 3 foot in length? It is 3 foot that's the minimum for fancies isn't it? Or was it 4ft?

And as long as it's a rectangle shaped tank and not some crazy octagon or pillar, it would be fine for surface area?
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #197 on: June 13, 2012, 04:40:41 PM »

I want bertie around for a long time.  If I'm doing this...I want to do it right.  I knew buying the smaller tank...that at some point I would be moving into a bigger tank.  I figured the smaller tank would give me an opportunity to see if it was a hobby I would enjoy. 

I'm loving it.  It's a pleasure to watch bertie and the snail crew.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #198 on: June 14, 2012, 03:37:51 AM »

I think you shouldn't have anything smaller than 150 liters for two fancy goldfish, anything else just looks so small *_*
3 foot is also very short, barely a meter so it shouldn't be too hard to account for this either when choosing a suitable tank Smiley 4 feet is only ~1.20m too.

And yeah, rectangles have the most useful surface area and swimming space at once! Smiley I also think they look nicest once you decorate them, everything looks much clearer there without the strange diamond shaped reflections and whatnot!
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #199 on: June 14, 2012, 05:39:48 AM »

Ah thanks for clearing up there nossie Smiley I think a decent width of at least 2ft or so would be good, considering how large fancies can get! Would give them room to turn around!

My new plan, is to have a wooden tank... It can go on the floor, essentially it would be like a mini indoor pond... It would be much safer than glass and the fish wouldn't have to stare at feet all day! Who knows if it's possible, but I will figure it out!
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #200 on: June 14, 2012, 11:15:17 AM »

2 feet is far too short, that's only 60cm. I'd really recommend at least 90cm, it's not as much as it sounds Tongue
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #201 on: June 15, 2012, 04:03:27 AM »

Can you get tanks that are 2.5 foot in width?
I've often seen ones that are only 2 foot in width... 3 foot in width might be possible though?
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #202 on: June 15, 2012, 04:12:32 AM »

My platy tank is about 65cm wide I think, and the goldfish tank is 1,40m long.
So yes? It's pretty easy to get tanks longer than 2 feet? Not sure I understand the question :'D
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #203 on: June 15, 2012, 04:37:19 AM »

Oh no sorry I mean width, the side length of the tank  Smiley
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #204 on: June 15, 2012, 12:30:29 PM »

Ah, I get it then! Cheesy
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #205 on: June 15, 2012, 02:18:46 PM »

It was something that I hadn't thought about until the other day, like for lucky I will need a width of 3 foot minimum so she can have space to turn around properly  Smiley otherwise for commons as it was pointed out to me, something 6ft x 2ft, would effectively be like living in a corridor!
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]  
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Page created in 0.404 seconds with 17 queries.