Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 25, 2014, 09:29:25 AM
Home Search Search Login Register

+  Pet Goldfish - Aquarium Forum Community
|-+  Aquarium
| |-+  Tank and Equipment
| | |-+  Have a question about tank size and health.
« previous next »
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14
Author Topic: Have a question about tank size and health.  (Read 6798 times)
fantailer
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 122
Posts: 1629



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #360 on: December 04, 2011, 07:02:44 AM »

Yeah that would be awesome.
Logged
GoldFishNoob
Full Member
***

Karma: 17
Posts: 255



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #361 on: December 05, 2011, 06:10:16 AM »

My 3 goldfish in a 10 gallon tank is'nt a choice though, it's an unfortunate cercustance. :/
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #362 on: December 05, 2011, 07:25:07 PM »

Woooo lets stuff 3 fishy babies in my tank! Roll Eyes
Psh lame website, I'm sure glad I ended up here for advice and not there >.>

Holy cow.... first they suggest adding 1 - 5 fish to a tank AND then say do a 1/4 water change, A MONTH!!!

Interestingly enough they give two different measurements for common goldfish...
"Ave Length: Pond 12-14 inches, Aquarium 6-9 inches."
Surely the goldfish's growth isn't going to care about the difference between a pond and a tank? I wonder what evidence they even have for that.

Nossie I couldn't find an e-mail either =(
Logged
GoldFishNoob
Full Member
***

Karma: 17
Posts: 255



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #363 on: December 05, 2011, 08:41:48 PM »

Even though my trio is happy and healthy and full of energy, there seems to be a little discontent amongst them. I've noticed after feeding time, Curly picks on Larry my big goldfish alot. Curly chases him in tight circles and pushes him around a bit. Larry does'nt seem at all stressed by it, he just moves on. I wonder if this is just Curlies personality or there's some sort of competition going on? Curly is always the instigator and it's always Larry who gets the end of it. No body picks on Bob. I know it must be an overcrowding thing, but is there anything I can do to maybe seperate Curly during feeding? They always gather up at the top together when I feed them, I can never feed them apart. XD
« Last Edit: December 05, 2011, 08:55:22 PM by GoldFishNoob » Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #364 on: December 06, 2011, 05:48:57 AM »

They're probably just a bit uncomfortable being in such a small space, even if goldfish aren't naturally territorial, they can still display this kind of behavior if they don't feel that they have enough space in the tank Smiley Had something similar before I moved them all to their current home.

It would be unnecessary to separate the fish while feeding, you'd just stress them, and it would hardly change anything.
As long as they're mostly happy, I think you don't need to worry Smiley
Logged
fantailer
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 122
Posts: 1629



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #365 on: December 06, 2011, 06:09:40 AM »

Its kinda like bettas. You need a 55 gallon tank for two females.
Logged
GoldFishNoob
Full Member
***

Karma: 17
Posts: 255



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #366 on: December 06, 2011, 06:33:52 PM »

I was thinking maybe I could try to slowly upgrade tank size until I get to the 40, but then realized that it would be cheaper just to save up and buy the 40 and the new filter in one swoop, rather than buy 20 gal tank, then 30/New Filter, then 40/New Filter. I was talking to a guy at petco and he said he's waiting for that $1 per gallon sale too. The 40 gallon tanks regular price is $109.99 I also saw a couple of really nice 55 gallons there too.

Also, if I get the 40 first can I put my little AC 20 filter on it until I get a 70? I know it's not ideal but any filter is better than none right? And if I get said bigger tank, how in the world to I fill it with water? XD
« Last Edit: December 06, 2011, 06:48:23 PM by GoldFishNoob » Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #367 on: December 07, 2011, 04:55:11 AM »

To fill it with water.... lots of buckets! And don't forget the dechlorinator Wink
A tip, some people say that putting a dish/little plate at the bottom of the tank, for the water to pour on to, will stop it from moving gravel or anything else you may have arranged in the tank  Smiley

What filtration is your AC 20 filter? I imagine as a temporary filter, it should be fine, as you won't be changing the amount of fish just the amount of water. If you can get a water test kit, then you could monitor it for a week and know how often water changes would need to be made depending on the Nitrate levels.
Plus using your already established filter would be a good idea anyway, it will help with cycling the new tank.

I know what you mean about the tanks, I thought I'd have to do something similar for Lucky, upgrading the tank every few years. I then realised it was an insane notion and I'd be better off buying one massive tank in the first place XD
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #368 on: December 07, 2011, 11:58:04 AM »

If you'll use the smaller filter on the new tank later, I doubt you'll have problems since your fish are so small and the tank would be so big Smiley For the first few weeks I used just a Fluval 4 on my tank, it takes care of about 500 l/h which isn't nearly enough for a tank that size! My fish were fine, I was testing the water religiously and changing it once a week Smiley
Logged
GoldFishNoob
Full Member
***

Karma: 17
Posts: 255



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #369 on: December 07, 2011, 07:54:13 PM »

My AC 20 is 100 GPH. Even when I do get the 70 I'm going to pair it with my 20, since it's already established and it'll help do a total of 400 GPH in tandom.
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #370 on: December 08, 2011, 05:51:14 AM »

Ah I see! I am sure it will be fine =)

I only wish we had crazy tank sales here! I'd quite like a 75 gallon tank.... $75=50! Then I wouldn't have to save up 500 XD
*Sigh* If only someone in America could get me one and post it Roll Eyes
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #371 on: December 08, 2011, 12:08:44 PM »

buckets take too long, use a hose. Just fill it 24 hours before you put the fish in it.

The AC20 will be fine at first, then just add a second filter.

55's are nice, but they have a thinner profile than a 40. If going bigger than 40 I would look at a 50 breeder or 75.

In your case, stick to the 40 gal. It seems to fit your needs best. And I don't see your dad letting you get a 75.
Logged
GoldFishNoob
Full Member
***

Karma: 17
Posts: 255



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #372 on: December 08, 2011, 03:03:02 PM »

Eeeeeh hose. We don't have a hose. >.<; We use to have one at the old apartment but some one stole it. Plus I don't think it'd go all the way to my room unless we bring it through my window.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #373 on: December 08, 2011, 03:09:52 PM »

Well, I got a tank twice the size of a 40 gal, and I've used buckets to fill the monster for more than a year now, works just fine! Cheesy
Otherwise, the hose idea is really nice Smiley A 40 gal isn't that big though, so buckets will most likely suffice Smiley
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #374 on: December 08, 2011, 04:13:27 PM »

Ya'll just like working harder than you have to. lol

Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #375 on: December 08, 2011, 05:09:43 PM »

Nah, it's more like not having a choice x'D
Logged
GoldFishNoob
Full Member
***

Karma: 17
Posts: 255



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #376 on: December 08, 2011, 09:43:55 PM »

*High fives Nossie* Exactly.
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #377 on: December 09, 2011, 04:53:42 AM »

Yup I'm going buckets all the way! Woo hooo, we could start a bucket crew, the hard core way to fill your tank! Cool
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #378 on: December 09, 2011, 04:54:55 AM »

Some day I might try to buy a hose of some sort for le tank, but not for the time being, no can afford Sad
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 822



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #379 on: December 09, 2011, 06:41:04 AM »

with buckets I can easily equalise the temperature and add the correct well-mixed dose of conditioner Grin
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #380 on: December 09, 2011, 06:49:19 AM »

Yeah Smiley I think the hose method would be particularly useful when setting up a new tank Smiley
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #381 on: December 10, 2011, 05:51:10 AM »

But the hose wouldn't be practical for a weekly water change surely? How would you dose the water correctly? Not to mention you'd be adding un-treated water in to the tank before having chance to add the conditioner?
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #382 on: December 10, 2011, 08:04:31 AM »

Some people dose the conditioner while the water is being filled into the tank, so they dose for the whole tank, gradually.
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #383 on: December 11, 2011, 06:43:56 AM »

That sounds rather difficult? How would they know how much they were adding back in? Just guess?
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #384 on: December 11, 2011, 02:53:29 PM »

No, they would dose the whole tank, as in: You have a 30 gallon tank, you put in enough water conditioner for 30 gallons.
I do that when I use the Easy Life conditioner since it contains beneficial bacteria as well Smiley (Meaning, I put the full dose in parts in the buckets, a tad bigger dose than usual). So in general, I never count exactly how much water I take out, I just take out as much as I think will be needed depending on when I changed it last time and how much has vaporized Smiley It doesn't have to be exactly 150,2 liters that is replaced and dosed with each water change Wink
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #385 on: December 11, 2011, 03:07:18 PM »

I can understand that, I add the conditioner to water in buckets. It just confuses me how people do it straight into the tank with a hose XD
I just have a crazy image of them standing above a tank like a cauldron and just randomly pouring in conditioner as they fill it back up with a hose.... Giving it a good stir every now and then.... Maybe say a few magic words...
Logged
fantailer
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 122
Posts: 1629



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #386 on: December 11, 2011, 04:50:41 PM »

yes carrying 5 gallon buckets every week is annoying.
Logged
Ron H
Full Member
***

Karma: 83
Posts: 443



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #387 on: December 12, 2011, 02:04:19 AM »

you'll end up with big arms like popeye fantailer, lol... I have heard about this filling up with a hose and dosing at the same time, sounds a bit hit and miss to me, and my thoughts are it could be stressfull for the fish if you didn't get it right... Also I adjust my ph of the replacement water, it would be hard to do that while using a hose, I know my fish appreciate keeping the ph the same, if I don't they act quite different, either flashing about or bottom sitting. cheers all
« Last Edit: December 12, 2011, 03:26:39 AM by Ron H » Logged
fantailer
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 122
Posts: 1629



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #388 on: December 12, 2011, 04:59:15 AM »

Yeah doing that would be really hard.
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: Have a question about tank size and health.
« Reply #389 on: December 12, 2011, 05:19:09 PM »

I feel like super women carrying buckets around.... like a Fish Keeping Super Woman...
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14  
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Page created in 0.222 seconds with 16 queries.