Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 28, 2014, 08:33:08 PM
Home Search Search Login Register

+  Pet Goldfish - Aquarium Forum Community
|-+  Aquarium
| |-+  General Goldfish Discussion
| | |-+  How to cycle a new tank with fish
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7
Author Topic: How to cycle a new tank with fish  (Read 3674 times)
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #150 on: June 05, 2012, 08:38:50 AM »

Thanks Nossie. I've put the book on my wish list. It has great reviews on amazon.

I'm happy to report....ammonia 0, nitrates .25 and nitrates 1 Grin

Yesterday I didnt have to do my morning water change...because everything was in a less toxic range!  I did one at dinner time due to rising nitrites.

I see light at the end of the tunnel!  I will never ever do a fish cycle. I've learned my lesson.

On a side bar....the brown algae is growing on one of my plants. Should I clean it? If I do need to clean it...how do I do that?
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #151 on: June 06, 2012, 03:00:35 AM »

If it's a silk plant, just clean it off in old tank water Smiley

Although Bertie might eat it for you? I guess it depends if he likes it? As Lucky loves eating algae, so I only ever clean it off the front glass Smiley
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #152 on: June 06, 2012, 07:51:42 AM »

Thanks Skwishee.
It's a real plant. I guess it's best to give it a gentle scrub in old tank water. I'm only concerned because I'm thinking the algae on the plant will stop it from getting light?  Huh  Input anyone?

Well today was the big day! Ammonia 0, nitrites 0, nitrates 5!!!!

My tank has cycled! And Bertie lived to tell his tale.

Thanks everyone Grin. Without your guidance I would have lots my patience.
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 821



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #153 on: June 06, 2012, 09:03:49 AM »

some plants are more susceptible than others to brown algae. if you add bog-wood the natural tannins might help.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #154 on: June 06, 2012, 11:05:08 AM »

Goldfish don't really like eating brown algae, never seen any doing that. Green algae is a completely different story though Smiley
When plants are covered in algae it does to some extent block the light. If your plant has big, sturdy leaves it should be alright with you rubbing the algae off as long as you're careful.
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 821



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #155 on: June 06, 2012, 11:13:36 AM »

my apple snails are stripping the brown gunk off my swords as we speak
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #156 on: June 06, 2012, 02:29:04 PM »

My sailfin pleco ate the brown algae too (and the plants... argh.), I haven't had any since so I can't tell if the bristlenoses are dealing with it or not... Smiley
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #157 on: June 07, 2012, 09:12:46 AM »

Yeah....my snails are having fun eating this brown algae. In fact there's little tracks where they have eaten the algae. I guess with time I hope it will go away. At least it's not harmful.

Scrivens - I'm amazed the plant can support the weight of your snail. It's just so big  Cheesy
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #158 on: June 08, 2012, 08:29:41 AM »

I quite like having algae in the tank Grin Some has started growing on my driftwood, my gravel boulders and in the gravel now, it just looks all the more natural in my eyes Smiley
Not to mention Lucky now has an abundance of algae to chow down on and the endless growing elodea, it's like a never ending banquet in there for her  Cheesy
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 821



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #159 on: June 08, 2012, 08:37:27 AM »

How big is Lucky these days?
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #160 on: June 08, 2012, 09:50:46 AM »

Skwishee
I've left the back plannel of the tank for the snails. They have left beautiful patterns in the algae. My poor plants are getting covered. I cleaned one yesterday. I guess I'll have to do all of them.

How's your pond plans? Any new updates?
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #161 on: June 08, 2012, 10:40:15 AM »

I used to grow algae on the back wall and the wood pieces in my tank, but in the end it started growing so much on the plants too that I decided to get some little catfish to deal with it for me. Looks much better now and there's still some algae on the wood pieces left for the goldfish to gnaw on c:
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #162 on: June 08, 2012, 11:29:10 AM »

d*mb question:  can you have goldfish and cat fish together?
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 821



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #163 on: June 08, 2012, 11:38:52 AM »

yeah, a little one like a bristlenose will be okay if you provide it with hiding places
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #164 on: June 08, 2012, 11:41:24 AM »

Cool.  A future addition when a bigger tank comes into my life.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #165 on: June 09, 2012, 12:10:46 PM »

Yep Smiley
Be careful when choosing the catfish though, make sure you don't accidentally get something huge and territorial just because the pet shop staff tell you it's a "very nice and calm fish". Learn to spot bristlenoses when you see them Wink they're pretty easy to recognize Smiley
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #166 on: June 09, 2012, 07:42:03 PM »

Thanks Nossie. I agree pet shops know nothing.  When I asked for a mystery snail or an applesnail or blue snail...the clerks had no clue Huh
Thats a bit humbling to think someone in th shop has no clue.  Ans that includes all the village id*ots who say it's ok to keep a fish in a tiny bowl.

I need some advice.  My filter is acting weird. Yesterday I thought it was making a weird noise (which turned out to be something else). I turned the filter off and then right back on.....nothing...no sound from the motor. So I took the motor apart and cleaned the gunk off.  Put it back on my tank and primed it.  Motor was going but no water flow. I keep pouring water into the filter and 20 minutes later on the high flow setting it started to go.  But now when I try to put it at the low flow setting - it sputters and sounds like there's not enough water to keep the suction going.

Do I have air trapped in it? Or is there something wrong with the motor?  Any thoughts?  I did go to the website but their trouble shooting is very limited. Help Huh
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 821



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #167 on: June 10, 2012, 04:08:29 AM »

you've got gunk somewhere hidden, maybe an intake valve, or the impeller housing...my filters sometimes play silly beggars Sad
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #168 on: June 10, 2012, 05:51:22 AM »

It could be air, I had a right battle with my filter the other day because of air in the pipes. Turning it on, I'd hear the motor but see nothing coming from the out take pipe XD

I found I had to straighten up my pipes, to get rid of all the air bubbles, prime it and switch it on again. After doing that twice, it suddenly decided to work for me XD

As for Lucky, she has grown a little bit, my house mate commented she was bigger the other day, I think she's definitley a little chunkier Grin Pond plans have come to a hault for the time being. I can't make any decisions until January, as it depends on what myself and my other half do. Only issue with a pond and moving around is that we would be very limited to where we can go (i.e. we'd always need a garden) and houses with gardens aren't cheap in terms of rent. So it is still very much a pipe dream and I may have to find Lucky another home come next year when she's a little bigger. But who knows! A pond may be a possibility still!
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #169 on: June 10, 2012, 06:53:14 AM »

In my experience, you shouldn't pour water into the filter, you should instead create a suction with gravity before you turn it on. For this to work you need to have the filter slightly below water level and you should suck the outtake tube to get water flowing the way it should in the first place, top up the water in the tank once the filter starts filling. If you pour water in you won't let the filter fill itself and there might be air trapped.
If there's still some stuck in it, just tilt the filter a little to the sides to try and make the air bubbles go away through the outtake tube.
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #170 on: June 10, 2012, 01:28:32 PM »

I find my filter needs to have water in it to work Smiley The instructions say to fill the canister 3/4 full.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #171 on: June 10, 2012, 02:16:26 PM »

The instructions will of course tell you if there's any certain way to turn it on, but I don't know what it says about OPs filter Smiley
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #172 on: June 10, 2012, 04:24:27 PM »

I have a HOB fluval...which I couldn't figure out how to manually suck water into it...but I completely took it apart and cleaned it in old fish water.  One word....Yuck.  I haven't cleaned it since I set the tank up. 

Followed the priming directions and it was still a PIA to get going.  Still has no suction at the lowest setting.  I'm going to call the company this week and see what the scoop is.  I'm keeping my fingers crossed it will go away "magically". Cheesy

Skwisshee,
I hope lucky gets to grow old with you.  I'm surprised no one makes portable ponds.  Something for a patio or such.  We can put a man on the moon....but no portable pond? 
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #173 on: June 10, 2012, 08:18:26 PM »

Quick question:  Can fish keep changing colors?  Originally when bertie was in the bowl, he developed black edges on his fins.  I assumed it was ammonia burns.  They have stayed.  Last week I notice he had a single yellow scale.  Now his face is turning yellow.  I just want to make sure that it's not an indicator of illness.  I don't care if he changes colors....but I do want to make sure he's ok.
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 821



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #174 on: June 11, 2012, 03:11:38 AM »

yes, fish can and do change colours. Sometimes the amount & type of light is a factor, sometimes it's diet, and often it is genetics
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #175 on: June 11, 2012, 03:28:23 AM »

Goldfish can change colour naturally, I wouldn't worry about it unless it looked like a sore or something unusual.
It is quite unusual for fish to develop the black colouring though, perhaps it's taking a while to fade? Usually goldfish lose their black colouring, I've not heard of it being the other way around?

Bertie should be fine Smiley If the fish were to develop a yellow or brown sheen, then that would indicate an illness.

As for Lucky growing old with me, I hope so too, but I'm not sure I can afford rent for a house with a garden Sad I am wondering if there's some place that sells large plastic tanks, any ideas guys? Something that I could have indoors, so I wouldn't be chained to having a garden but wouldn't be as expensive as glass.....
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #176 on: June 11, 2012, 04:05:00 AM »

My first two orandas were in pretty bad shape, Berry had missing pieces on her dorsal fin and that stayed a black healing spot for weeks. Might take a while for Bertie to heal the burns simply Smiley

How do you change the flow settings on your filter?
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #177 on: June 11, 2012, 08:23:00 PM »

Wow I don't ammonia burns would last so long. Thanks for the info. 

My little fish is growing...he's about 2.5 long.  I'm a bit mad at him to nite. He uprooted 3 plants  Angry
So I had to do a small water change to get my hand to the bottom and replant the plants. Grrrrr.

Nossie....the intake tube controls the motor speed.  Move the intake tube to the left, flow decreases. Move it to the right, intake increases. Good news a 1/2 miracle has occurred...no problem with flow now Grin. But motor is a bit nosey. Last time the motor made noise - it took 2 weeks for it to get quiet. So I'm hoping for the other 1/2 of miracle to happen in the next weeks.  Wink
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #178 on: June 11, 2012, 08:27:16 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
As for Lucky growing old with me, I hope so too, but I'm not sure I can afford rent for a house with a garden Sad I am wondering if there's some place that sells large plastic tanks, any ideas guys? Something that I could have indoors, so I wouldn't be chained to having a garden but wouldn't be as expensive as glass.....

Skwishee
My LFS has a pond set up in the front of the store.  It's like a tube with wood paneling on the outside.  It stands about 3 feet high and 5 feet long.  Nothing fancy. No concrete. If you want I can go and ask what's the scoop on it. 
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #179 on: June 11, 2012, 08:58:25 PM »

Sorry back with more questions....so I'm keeping an eye on criaglist for a larger tank.  Since bertie will be getting a friend, I know my days in the tank will be numbered.  Any tips on buying a used tank.  I see one close to me and I"m so tempted to buy it.  55 gallon with metal stand....$100 or best offer.  My mom wasn't too happy as this tank would go into the garage to wait to be used.  But maybe something better will come up??  Any experience?  Here's the link but I don't know if it will work overseas.

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)

Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7  
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Page created in 0.364 seconds with 16 queries.