Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 24, 2014, 03:09:15 AM
Home Search Search Login Register

+  Pet Goldfish - Aquarium Forum Community
|-+  Aquarium
| |-+  General Goldfish Discussion
| | |-+  How to cycle a new tank with fish
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7
Author Topic: How to cycle a new tank with fish  (Read 3925 times)
cdale
Full Member
***

Karma: 22
Posts: 220



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #30 on: April 22, 2012, 04:27:56 PM »

You're welcome sajacobs! Smiley Im glad to hear that his illness is getting a little better! Smiley
I also use those tests, they're very good! Smiley And as Skwishee says they last quite a while, I use mine every few days and I still have loads left Smiley
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #31 on: April 23, 2012, 06:32:10 AM »

It just occurred to me.....how do I age up to 15 gallons of water from the tap for future cleanings?  Right now I have 3 one gallon water jugs holding treated tap water for the fish? But how do I do 15 gallons???  A big bucket?

I will get the test kit. Thanks for the help Smiley
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #32 on: April 23, 2012, 06:38:29 AM »

Also.....I'm doing at 25% water change today.  Should I put some of that water into the new tank?

Thanks
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 822



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #33 on: April 23, 2012, 09:58:42 AM »

put the water from the old tank into the new

get a 10 litre bucket from the pound store for your new tank , then just add the right amount of conditioner (mine's a tsp per bucket)
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #34 on: April 23, 2012, 04:00:05 PM »

got my test kit.  Much better than strips.  I put the water drained from bertie's temp tank into the new tank.  I tested the water:

PH: 7.6
hight ph: 8.4
ammonia: .25
nitrites: 0
nitrates: 0

It occurred to me that bertie's fish water hasn't been circulating for very long in the new tank.  So I'm guessing tomorrow's testing will be a better indicator if I need to do a water change to bring down the ammonia.

Here's the start of going down the "big tank" rabbit hole Shocked
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #35 on: April 24, 2012, 06:59:24 AM »

Just need some reassurance. Bertie was acting funny last night- sticking to the top of the water - some gulping of air at the surface.  So I check the ammonia levels. It's was really high (2). So I did a 50% water change. Today he's acting fine.  Tested the water again ammonia is high again (2). Is it ok to do another water change only 16 hours later?

I have the heater running in the tank to warm help keep the water temp stable from water changes. The theometer is at 70f.  Is that ok? 
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #36 on: April 24, 2012, 07:04:25 AM »

Quote
Here's the start of going down the "big tank" rabbit hole Shocked

Hope it'll be a pleasant ride! Grin
Everything seems in order Smiley I'll second scrivens advice with the bigger buckets. It's not really necessary to age the water when you use water conditioner, so do that only if it won't present problems Wink

Yes, you should change water whenever the ammonia is high! Did you move the fish to the bigger tank already or was this the readings of the small one?
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #37 on: April 24, 2012, 07:08:06 AM »

This is the smaller tank. My stand comes tonight. I'll get assembled and the tank on it. I'll change the water again right now.

Big question: when do I put Bertie in?  Should I keep holding out with frequent water changes and let the big tank get stable?  Or more him right away?  Please guide me.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #38 on: April 24, 2012, 07:25:53 AM »

I would wait at least 2 days with moving him so that the temperature can settle and stabilize in the new system, just keep pouring the "used" tank water into it whenever you change some for Bertie and the cycling might get pretty far just with that Smiley
Test the water in the new tank after the two days and see how it looks! Smiley
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #39 on: April 24, 2012, 01:43:25 PM »

If you skip back to the previous page, I mentioned what I did with moving Lucky Smiley
I think my tanks ph/temperature had settled after 2 or 3 days. Ideally you want the ph and temperature to be the same in both tanks  Smiley

Are you planning on moving the gravel and filter from the little tank across too? They may have some beneficial bacteria that could help? (It may depends how long they've been set up).

How is Bertie doing?
Is his fungal things better?
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #40 on: April 24, 2012, 08:32:27 PM »

Thanks Skwishee,
I forgot about your post.  I will go back and reread.

Ok...I'm a sap.....but thank you so much...all of you helping me.  Bertie is on the mend...his fins are looking healthy again.  You have all been so patient to guide me and without that I wouldn't have cleaned bertie's tank so often (I did twice today...with second ammonia reading 1 before water change rather than 2).  Thanks for helping this uneducated stranger and her fish.  You guys are the best Grin

Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #41 on: April 25, 2012, 03:42:40 AM »

That's what we're here for! Smiley
So glad that little Bertie is healing up! It'll be so much fun seeing him in the bigger tank! Smiley
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #42 on: April 26, 2012, 03:59:25 AM »

Glad to hear Bertie's getting better!!  Smiley Believe me the feeling you get, when you release them into a massive tank, it's just the best moment ever. To watch them swim.... swim.... swim and even swim some more!
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #43 on: April 26, 2012, 09:33:19 AM »

Well the tank and stand are set up.  I spent 3 hours last night getting it done. I'm tired today - its a lot of work. When I transferred the water out of the tank (to move it) - the tank had that goldfish smell and the plants and gravel were a bit slick. So I'm assuming that the bacteria are getting established.

When I get home tonight I will get the water readings.

Bertie's tank with 2 daily water changes has dropped ammonia readings to .5 Smiley. So I will keep doing that.

 I'm happy to report Bertie's fins are completely healed. And I swear he's growing again.  His tail is more flowing and fluid like - getting longer?


Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #44 on: April 26, 2012, 08:39:03 PM »

Can someone give me the link for water guidelines for ph, nitrites, ect?  I saw it somewhere on this site but now I can't find it Undecided

Thanks
Logged
orandagal
Full Member
***

Karma: 26
Posts: 168



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #45 on: April 26, 2012, 09:18:58 PM »

Saracobs, I know someone here can point you to the exact link but Ideal PH is 7.5. However, a stable ph is more important, mine stays right at 8.2 and has been that way from the very beginning and fish are fine with it. Ammonia should be 0, Nitrite 0, and Nitrates 10-20 ppm is good. You want to try to stay in those ranges. Hope this helps.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #46 on: April 27, 2012, 02:38:37 AM »

Good to hear you're getting there! Smiley Note that a healthy tank will be smelling sort of earthy, not like fish. It usually gets the fishy (pun not intended) smell while there's ammonia present - the tank is cycling - or something else is wrong with the water quality.

As Orandagal said, what counts is that the water chemistry is stable, generally goldfish can enjoy a pH from 6.5 and even up to 8.5! Nitrates aren't really toxic until they reach a level of 40, but changing some water when it reaches 20-30ppm is usually a good idea, just to be sure that your fish will stay healthy! Smiley Water hardness couldn't matter much less to goldies, unless it'd suddenly change, as with everything. Their bodies and how they work are completely controlled by the water around them, so it's important to keep it constant and safe. (Imagine how you'd feel if your body temperature would drop by two-three degrees all of a sudden?)

When it comes to temperature, fancy goldfish prefer water that's a bit warmer than you'd think, many professional breeders, vets etc recommend a temperature of between 24-26 degrees Celsius, so a heater might come in handy for smaller systems in particular. Mine keeps its temp pretty well, it's only during summers it gets a tad hot in there and in winters it gets colder, but no less than 20 degrees usually (not that they'd be harmed by that either, but some fancies will get swim bladder issues or fungal infections if kept in too cool water.)
Logged
orandagal
Full Member
***

Karma: 26
Posts: 168



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #47 on: April 27, 2012, 06:26:25 AM »

Thanks Nossie for helping out. You are so good at explaining the why's, much better than I am  Smiley I have forgotten about the temperature so that will help also.
Have a great weekend  Smiley
« Last Edit: April 27, 2012, 06:29:26 AM by orandagal » Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #48 on: April 27, 2012, 07:47:47 AM »

[image]


Seriously though, thank you Smiley I'm reading those books now and then whenever there's something hard to explain going on in my tanks so I refreshed my memory not too long ago :'D
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #49 on: April 27, 2012, 08:43:01 AM »

Ok...that pic looks like me in the morning before my tea;)

Thanks Nossie.

Nope the tanks doesn't smell like fish...just reminds me of when I had Ernie. It's an earth smell. Water levels are the same as when I last tested it. On a good note:  all the high ammonia water that I have removed from Bertie's tank goes into the new tank....so ammonia levels are lower in the new tank then Bertie's.  Something must be converting the ammonia. On the bad side:  ammonia levels are .25. Should I do a water change?

I didn't realize the tank needs to be warmer. Bertie's tank is sitting at 20c/70f. I've noticed he sits close to the heater a lot. I'm going to put the thermometer in the new tank and see what the temp is. I guess more important part is o have the temps in the tanks match.

So the big question:  when does Bertie move?  I'm willing to keep up with 2xdaily water changes for as long as necessary. What's your thoughts?

I just have to boast  Grin......Bertie looks prettier everyday. Even nicer than when I bought him. I hope some newbie finds this post because I realize it was his life in that st*pid small bowl that made him sick. Yeah he's in a small tank now but he's getting 2xdaily water changes....so plenty of fresh water. I get it...tank size does matter. It really makes a difference. I don't doubt that when he's in his new home Bertie will be even prettier.

Logged
orandagal
Full Member
***

Karma: 26
Posts: 168



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #50 on: April 27, 2012, 10:50:22 AM »

 Smiley  Love it!!!
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #51 on: April 27, 2012, 07:12:01 PM »

NASA we have launch......bertie is in his new tank.  The temp in his tank and new tank were similar....so I figure it's time for the switch.  I do believe he likes his new world.  He's currently checking out the gravel.

So I will start with daily water testing.  Question:  if the ammonia is .25 should I do a 50% water change? 

Officially in the rabbit hole now....gulp....hope bertie and I can make it.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #52 on: April 28, 2012, 02:18:03 PM »

Thermometers are basic tank equipment, very simple, cheap and important. Particularly in smaller tanks where the temperature might be changing without a heater. You may want to get one for the new tank, just because Wink

I wouldn't change out the full 50% for .25ppm, but I would indeed remove a few buckets, maybe 25-30% and add a lot of beneficial bacteria. He's probably used to having some ammonia present by now, so it should be enough. If someone has a better answer on this, feel free to correct me! Smiley
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #53 on: April 28, 2012, 02:33:49 PM »

Thanks nossie

I Did a water test today. Everything was the same except for nitrates. It was .5. So I did a 25% water change. I guess the tank is cycling.   Cheesy

Any thing I should be looking out for? 

I did get a heater with the tank. I set it up and the temp is a toasty 22c/72f. My apartment is chilly so it's good to keep Him warm.

I'm a bit scared about Bertie's health. I got up last night 3 times to check him. I think I'm a bit fish batty.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #54 on: April 28, 2012, 05:55:39 PM »

Aww, that's really sweet of you to be checking on him Smiley

Great that the nitrites/nitrates are starting to show up! You're definitely getting somewhere Cheesy When I had used old tank water in the new system it seemed to go straight from ammonia to nitrate, or at least nitrites wouldn't show up on the tests. Either way, that's what you should be expecting, now that the ammonia is starting to go down, the nitrites will spike, which are also pretty harmful at higher levels, but of course not at all the same way that ammonia is.
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #55 on: April 30, 2012, 06:25:39 AM »

Glad to hear the fish moving went well!!

I totally get what you mean about the fish getting prettier, I swear Lucky's fin's look so much lovelier since she's been in the bigger tank Cheesy

When the nitrites spike, I would just keep up with the water changes Smiley I found daily water changes until it hit 0ppm, was really helpful, Lucky did not like the nitrites at all Lips sealed
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #56 on: April 30, 2012, 06:49:26 AM »

Larger tanks also tend to have much better lighting than small bowls or tank-kits, that probably also makes him look that much more lovely Smiley

We'll be moving out of this tiny apartment soon, so me and the fantails are preparing to move a third time within 3 years... Grin
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #57 on: April 30, 2012, 10:50:18 AM »

Gosh....I admire you.  I'm just stress from my experience.  I can't imagine adding moving to the mix. 

Quick questions:  Water test yesterday....nitrates 0 but ammonia .25.....did a 25% water change. 
The water temp dropped by 2 degrees after water change.  Is that bad?  Is it bad to add warm water from the tap?

The clarity of the water is changing....cloudy then clearer....then cloudy back to clear.  It's changing every couple of hours.  Is that normal?

Thanks
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #58 on: May 01, 2012, 09:05:31 AM »

I usually try to keep the new tank water roughly the same temperature as the tank, it's alright with a 1-2 degree fluctuation, but nothing much more than that Smiley It is normal that the water is cloudy while the tank is cycling, it's the beneficial bacteria multiplying and settling Smiley

Heh, my tank is already cycled, so all I have to do is take it down and assemble it in a new spot, no problem Wink
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: How to cycle a new tank with fish
« Reply #59 on: May 01, 2012, 02:14:32 PM »

Thank Nossie

I will keep an eye on the water temp and figure out a way to keep it stable with water changes.

I'm glad the tank is getting stable.....bertie's one happy fish Grin

I didn't realize that once a tank is established that you can empty it and it will stay ok with new water.  Pretty cool.

Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7  
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Page created in 0.116 seconds with 16 queries.