Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 24, 2014, 03:27:16 AM
Home Search Search Login Register

+  Pet Goldfish - Aquarium Forum Community
|-+  Community
| |-+  Pictures and Videos
| | |-+  Flashes new tank
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2]
Author Topic: Flashes new tank  (Read 965 times)
Vicloz2006
Full Member
***

Karma: 35
Posts: 558



Re: Flashes new tank
« Reply #30 on: June 03, 2012, 05:17:27 PM »

I keep he has regular water changes at the moment while the tank has been cycling. But I only take 2 buckets of water out and add 2 back in. Should I do a bigger water change then to get rid of the nitrates? I thought that when a tank was cycling they dropped themselves back down?
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 89
Posts: 820



Re: Flashes new tank
« Reply #31 on: June 04, 2012, 02:43:36 AM »

no, nitrates are the final waste product and will continue to build; hence the weekly water-change we all do Cheesy
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Flashes new tank
« Reply #32 on: June 04, 2012, 03:57:11 AM »

Goes like this: Ammonia -> Nitrites -> Nitrates.
I don't know how big your tank is, but 2 buckets hardly help either way, take out half the water at a time Smiley
If nitrate is the only thing you have there (below 40ppm) you should be fine introducing Merle by now.
Logged
Vicloz2006
Full Member
***

Karma: 35
Posts: 558



Re: Flashes new tank
« Reply #33 on: June 04, 2012, 11:27:49 AM »

Yeah nitrates are all that's left and they are under 5ppm. I introduced Merle yesterday and they seem to be getting on ok. They do chase each other every now and then but they aren't hurting each other I think they are just playing, as flash will chase Merle then Merle will chase flash then they cosy up to each other and look for food and then chase each other again. I will do a 50% water change for them tomorrow as I don't have time today as I have to go to work but I have the whole day tommorrow to devote to them.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Flashes new tank
« Reply #34 on: June 04, 2012, 03:13:46 PM »

Sounds nice Smiley Hope they'll get along from now on Smiley
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: Flashes new tank
« Reply #35 on: June 04, 2012, 03:56:10 PM »

Good to hear the re-introduction has gone okay Grin
If the tank is 180 litres, you'll want to take out at least 90 litres Wink

I just measured half way and quarter of the way down Lucky's tank and put some blu tack on as a marker, I find it really helpful to get roughly 50% or 25% out of the tank without having to count buckets Cheesy
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Flashes new tank
« Reply #36 on: June 05, 2012, 07:25:06 AM »

I'm pretty liberal with the water changes, I basically stop taking more water when I've finished cleaning the gravel. At most I take a few more buckets to clean the filter media in Smiley Most of the time I measure with my eye though so that the tank is roughly half-empty or more when I'm done.
Logged
Vicloz2006
Full Member
***

Karma: 35
Posts: 558



Re: Flashes new tank
« Reply #37 on: June 05, 2012, 07:51:18 AM »

That's what I normally do with the other tanks but I didn't want to take to much whilst the tank was cycling.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Flashes new tank
« Reply #38 on: June 06, 2012, 11:00:16 AM »

The bacteria generally settles in the filter, not in the water. 50% changes are still the best to go while cycling a tank Smiley
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]  
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Page created in 0.129 seconds with 17 queries.