Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 21, 2014, 04:40:07 AM
Home Search Search Login Register

+  Pet Goldfish - Aquarium Forum Community
|-+  Aquarium
| |-+  Tank and Equipment
| | |-+  My Tank set up
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3
Author Topic: My Tank set up  (Read 1723 times)
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #30 on: January 25, 2012, 01:33:57 PM »

Guess you'll have to make do with the filters you have an save up some money for a canister one Smiley But Dragonii had posted a couple of cheap brands to look at online Smiley
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #31 on: January 25, 2012, 03:56:22 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
Ya, the power filter is very old at least 20 years old it holds 2 large carts...I've had the propeller replaced a couple times. The motor has never been replaced or serviced and it works great. It is a Whisper 3 second nature...I dont think they make them anymore. I think you are right about the canester filters providing more good bacteria. I asked her she ignored the question and just talked about something else. I haven't seen a canester filter good for a 60 gallon for less than 200...I can't really afford that.  Cry


60 gallon tank, your best two options are the ones I had recommended earlier.

The Odyssea CFS 500: $60 on Ebay.
This little canister is simple, effective and cheap. It contains what is basically just a huge sponge filter for bio filtration. It turns 500 gph, no hassles priming it as the motor is located at the bottom, extra bio media can be added in the space at the bottom around the motor, their is a lot of info on this cheap little filter out there, including modifications. They also make a 700 gph model that includes UV sterilization. Only reall issue that I know of with it is that they say the O-rings are two thin. That can be fixed for about $3. There is info on it in the this thread.
(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)

Odyssea canisters on Ebay.
(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
[image]

[image]


My personal favorite is the Aquatop CF-500UV. It does 525 gph, has UV sterilization, 4 media baskets, prime button, spray bar, optional surface extractor, I just can't say enough good about it. It has been a wonderful filter and I plan on buying more.
You can get it from Amazon, Ebay, Buy.com and TruAqua for $119. Beware of fakes on Ebay. They have them for about $20 less but they have crappy electrical cords on them.
(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
[image]


Either one of these will fit your needs and do more than enough for a 60 gallon tank.
Best of all, you won't have a big ugly pond filter taking up half your tank. Smiley

Don't just keep fish, keep happy fish.  Wink

If it makes you feel better about listening to me, here's some of my personal tanks. No ugly ponds pumps to be found.
[image]

[image]

[image]

[image]



Logged
fantailer
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 122
Posts: 1629



Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #32 on: January 25, 2012, 05:48:52 PM »

Dragonii how do you make such pretty tanks!!!!!!
Logged
Caffuss
Newbie
*

Karma: 3
Posts: 47


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #33 on: January 25, 2012, 07:06:07 PM »

Does the canester filters cuase alot of surface distrubtion? Becuase that is important. How do you service them and do they come with all the plumping and instructions needed..if you have never used one before?  Roll Eyes
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #34 on: January 25, 2012, 08:23:44 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
Dragonii how do you make such pretty tanks!!!!!!

Thank you. I don't know. I've always been into art and photography so I try to envision them as a painting or photo when I set them up.
I had my sister help me when I first set up the 150, she is a florist so I thought she would have an eye for it.
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #35 on: January 25, 2012, 08:48:19 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
Does the canester filters cuase alot of surface distrubtion? Becuase that is important. How do you service them and do they come with all the plumping and instructions needed..if you have never used one before?  Roll Eyes


Yes, they come with all needed plumbing and instructions.
They are pretty simple to set up and we are all here to help you if you get lost.

To service then you simply turn them off, disconnect the hoses, take them outside or to a bathtub/sink, open them and clean them and replace any media that needs to be replaced. The ones that I listed should only need carbon replaced (if you use it). The Aquatop has those white filter pads that wear out but they can be modified so that you don't have to buy those pads. You clean the bio media in tank water that you drain into a bucket (or dechlorinated tap water) by just dipping the basket in and shaking it. The Odyssea you have to squeeze the filter sponge until it's somewhat clean (also in a bucket of tank water). Just remember that straight tap water will kill the bacteria.
They can be a bit intimidating at first, but you get used to them quickly.

Here are a couple of videos of the surface disturbance in my 150 gallon tank. This is the output from the Aquatop canister. I don’t use the spray bar because I use flow accelerator vortex nozzles… African cichlids like a strong water flow in the whole tank.

A spray bar would create excellent surface disturbance.

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.) (Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.) | (Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)



This video was taken from the opposite end of the tank (6 feet) from the nozzle.
(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.) (Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.) | (Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)

Logged
Caffuss
Newbie
*

Karma: 3
Posts: 47


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #36 on: January 26, 2012, 11:53:16 AM »

I think I'll get the Odyessa...how do I know if its a "knock off" if I buy it from Ebay..or were should I buy it? I want the 500, becuase I do not like UV I want alage for my Goldfish to eat....even though it is ugly. I have another one of these great Whisper power filters I can add for extra water flow and bio media. I can just put in near the intake of the canester filter? Can I use those nozzels with Goldfish...just to distrub the surface, with the Odyessa?
Logged
Caffuss
Newbie
*

Karma: 3
Posts: 47


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #37 on: January 26, 2012, 11:55:15 AM »

Or does it come with a spray bar?
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #38 on: January 26, 2012, 12:57:05 PM »

Caffuss, the Odyssea isn't the one with the knock off issue. It's the Aquatop that has the knock offs.

The Odyssea doesn't have a spray bar. I has a different type of nozzle. It's more of a fan design. It'll work just fine.
Logged
Caffuss
Newbie
*

Karma: 3
Posts: 47


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #39 on: January 31, 2012, 12:59:41 PM »

On the canester filters..can I put the intake tube on one end of the tank at the bottom of the tank and the out flow at the surface on the other end of the tank? Does it come with clips to hold the hoses in place? Is there a battery back up device, that is not to costly that I can plug it into to keep it running in case of a power outage? I heard that the still water will become toxic very quickly in a canester filter.  Shocked
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #40 on: January 31, 2012, 02:13:28 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
On the canester filters..can I put the intake tube on one end of the tank at the bottom of the tank and the out flow at the surface on the other end of the tank? Does it come with clips to hold the hoses in place? Is there a battery back up device, that is not to costly that I can plug it into to keep it running in case of a power outage? I heard that the still water will become toxic very quickly in a canester filter.  Shocked


It's best to put the in and out on the same end of the tank. That creates a circular flow.
I don't think the Odyssea has clips of any sort, that's one complaint that have heard about it. You can usually pick up the suction cup clips at a local shop pretty cheap. I never really use them.
No battery back up. No aquarium filter has a battery back up. They make what is called a UPS (uninterrupted power supply) for use with computers/servers. But they are rather pricey and won't run your filters for long enough to make a difference.
I have had my filters sit for hours without power and never had any issues with dying bio beds. If the power goes out around your house a lot for long periods of time you could get a battery operated air pump. If the power goes out open the canister, drop an air stone in it and then put it back together when the power comes back on.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #41 on: January 31, 2012, 02:34:57 PM »

I don't use any suction cups besides the ones that came to hold the intake and outtake tubes in place inside the tank. Like Dragonii said, you can get cheap extra ones at any pet shop if you think you need them, but I find that it's pretty useful moving the hoses around a little while doing maintenance Smiley
Logged
Caffuss
Newbie
*

Karma: 3
Posts: 47


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #42 on: January 31, 2012, 04:39:05 PM »

o tere is a key on my key board tat is not working its te letter tat is missing and omes before i.  Tongue I tougt tat if you put te intake and outtake tubes togeter it would just take te good water rigt bak into te filter,witout going troug te wole tank, Huh wow te letter tat omes after b is not working etier!!!!  Angry  I tink my son broke tem playing  games. Well...if you ae ad your filters off for ours wit no problem..ten I geuss I souldnt worry about it?
Tank you...you are ery elpful and your tanks are really pretty! I like bettas and own one myself as well..in a ten gallon wit a goast srimp and plants.
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #43 on: January 31, 2012, 05:26:42 PM »

Yeah, you would think to put them on opposite ends but no, it's better to put them on the same end. The water flows across the tank, hits the wall on the other end and then flows back. I have always found that to work best.

I know that because I have actually filled up bare tanks and added food dye and watched what the water flow does.
 Roll Eyes
Back in the day when I worked at a local pet shop we took our jobs seriously. lol
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #44 on: February 01, 2012, 04:54:47 AM »

Thank you Dragonii, now I know why I had it in my mind to put the in put and out put of the external filter at the same end of the tank!

The only extra suction cups I use, are for my air line. I found the filter came with enough handy suction cups already Smiley
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #45 on: February 01, 2012, 10:08:24 AM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
Thank you Dragonii, now I know why I had it in my mind to put the in put and out put of the external filter at the same end of the tank!

The only extra suction cups I use, are for my air line. I found the filter came with enough handy suction cups already Smiley

The Aquatop does, but I have heard that the Odyssea doesn't come with any.... they may have changed that. But honestly, looking at how the pipes are designed, you really don't need any.
Logged
Caffuss
Newbie
*

Karma: 3
Posts: 47


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #46 on: February 01, 2012, 01:59:00 PM »

Okie so I just aim the outflow to the other side of the tank, the new water will go across the top,  hit the other side of the tank, go down and then back in the filter?   Grin My key board is working fine agian...sorry about last post, i geuss it was in some kind of game mode. Another question..do you cover your Gold fish tanks? Or leave them open for fresh air?
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #47 on: February 01, 2012, 02:03:00 PM »

Cover would be best. It helps keep the water from evaporating, prevent stuff from falling in by accident and help to keep dust and whatever else that floats in the air out.
A simple glass top works well.
[image]
Logged
Caffuss
Newbie
*

Karma: 3
Posts: 47


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #48 on: February 01, 2012, 02:10:54 PM »

I've always covered them before, but if it is covered dosn't it also trap carbon m and not let new oxegen in? I'm thinking of puting some kind of screen.
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 89
Posts: 820



Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #49 on: February 01, 2012, 03:38:48 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
I've always covered them before, but if it is covered dosn't it also trap carbon m and not let new oxegen in? I'm thinking of puting some kind of screen.


use a venturi to your outflow to drAW IN oXYGEN
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #50 on: February 01, 2012, 03:49:42 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
I've always covered them before, but if it is covered dosn't it also trap carbon m and not let new oxegen in? I'm thinking of puting some kind of screen.

The glass tops are no where near air tight so they get enough o2 in. There are gaps every where. I have glass tops on my 150 and my fish load is quiet heavy. I have friends that have exceeded the standard 1"/per gallon by more than you can even imagine and they have glass tops with no problems.
My little 12 gallon has a sealed glass top and the only opening on it is about 4x5"... and I have more fish than what is recommended for a 12 gallon in it.

You'll be fine.
Logged
Caffuss
Newbie
*

Karma: 3
Posts: 47


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #51 on: February 01, 2012, 04:05:03 PM »

What is a venturi? I would think there would be enough air..air is not still, but some people say the carbon d gets traped in there if it is covered and even say you should use a fan on an uncovered tank. The Carbon D is heavier than oxegen.
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #52 on: February 01, 2012, 05:23:10 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
What is a venturi? I would think there would be enough air..air is not still, but some people say the carbon d gets traped in there if it is covered and even say you should use a fan on an uncovered tank. The Carbon D is heavier than oxegen.


A venturi valve goes into the water return line. You connect an air line to it and it draws air into the returning jet stream.
Honestly Caffuss, you won't need it. A canister turning 500 gph will run a tank up to about 100 gallons just fine all on it's own.
[image]


I know they say 10x the volume turn over and all that stuff... but most of it is guidelines for people that don't have experience.
Canister filters provide more square footage of bio inhabitable surface area than most other filters. That filter can run a tank with an average bioload (even goldfish) of up to at least a 90 gallon tank. Next size over 90 is a 110, for that or anything bigger I would do two canisters. You can do dual canisters on smaller tanks but anything less than a 55 and you might as well just do one large one.

You can add a venturi if you like, but in my opinion you will be wasting your time. Venturi's are designed to inject air flow in a stream for things like protein skimmers (salt water only) or powerheads which sit lower under the surface of the water. The outlet on the canister is designed to sit under the waters surface and be aimed up (if you wish) to create surface disturbance.
Adding a ventui will will just add a bunch of messy looking bubbles and create a lot of noise with a pay off of increasing your o2 levels so slightly that you would not even notice.
You would do better making your own spray bar.


Logged
Caffuss
Newbie
*

Karma: 3
Posts: 47


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #53 on: February 01, 2012, 06:56:23 PM »

Well, I would think the water movement on the surface would be enough to move the air around so there will be enough oxegen and the Carbon D would not be traped under the cover...unless of course the cover was air tight, I dont think they make air tight tank covers.  I also heard the air bubbles can be bad for Goldfish. You hear a lot of things.
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #54 on: February 01, 2012, 07:36:14 PM »

I don't like bubbles. They're not natural and not necessary.
Logged
Caffuss
Newbie
*

Karma: 3
Posts: 47


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #55 on: February 02, 2012, 12:54:47 PM »

There's a bunch of people who think it is so important to keep there Gold fish tanks uncovered that they keep there tanks half empty to make sure they can't jump out....I think the extra water would make there tanks more stable and there Gold fish healthier and happier.
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #56 on: February 02, 2012, 02:28:24 PM »

Why would you buy a 100 gallon tank and put 50 gallons of water in it?

If someone is really set on having an open top tank but they are concerned about the fish jumping out they can cover it with a screen or light diffuser sheets.
But at that point it will be so ugly that I wouldn't want it in my house. Just build a pond.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #57 on: February 03, 2012, 04:18:44 AM »

That's a bit of a misunderstanding.
The air stones can be harmful for goldfish because they may try to eat some algae off of them and swallow air in the process, which is why I keep mine 100% buried and only a few larger bubbles can come out.

About the tank being open, yes it's good, better than anything BUT you should leave only a few inches extra from the top, not half-full. It may be good for fancy goldfish with swim bladder disorders to lower the water level temporarily and gradually raise it again, but some may have chronic problems and then you need to keep them in less water.
Logged
Caffuss
Newbie
*

Karma: 3
Posts: 47


Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #58 on: February 03, 2012, 11:16:00 AM »

Well, I don't know...if you do have an air stone, or a venturi then that would fix the air movement problem and you wouldnt have to worry at all about your tank being covered and there not being enough fresh air at the surface. Anyhow, I have an Odyessa light that is supported on wires above the tank surface. I have my cover on, but its a plastic one, I took the glass piece out becuase the Odyessa light has its own cover built in. My back cover stirp is also missing were my power filter is running throwing bubbles in the tank (fresh air) That then go to the surface in the front of the tank were it is covered. My water level is a couple inches below the top of the tank. They dont want a screen ....I geuss they think it still reduces the air movement to much. I don't know, but I think an air stone can fix that...just dont want them to swallow air.  Huh
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: My Tank set up
« Reply #59 on: February 04, 2012, 03:40:06 AM »

No, an air stone causes barely any surface movement. If you have a good filter, that'll do the trick. place the spray-bar (or whatever kind of outtake the filter has) for maximum surface movement. I have my air stone for purely ornamental reasons. They are in fact, pretty useless even though people keep going on and on about you needing one if you keep goldfish because they are so amazing and helps the oxygen whatever with the water... or whatever. It's all a load of crap really Smiley
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3  
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Page created in 0.627 seconds with 16 queries.