Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 19, 2014, 04:52:05 AM
Home Search Search Login Register

+  Pet Goldfish - Aquarium Forum Community
|-+  Aquarium
| |-+  Aquarium Decoration
| | |-+  how to quarantine a plant
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: how to quarantine a plant  (Read 643 times)
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


how to quarantine a plant
« on: May 10, 2012, 04:23:26 PM »

My wise goldfish lovers,

How do I quarantine a plant?  How do I do the potassium permanganate or sodium hypo chlorite dip?

I'm a bit baffled on the steps.

thanks
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2012, 06:43:59 PM »

Hi Sajacobs,

I've personally only ever used a salt dip.

What I did most recently when I brought my elodea was check it for snails (any snails I found I added to my snail tank), then I rinsed the plant, soaked it in a salt dip solution for around 10 minutes, rinsed the plant again thoroughly, soaked it in tap water for 24 hours and then added it to the aquarium (I also chucked my UV filter light on for a few hours just in case).

I can't quite remember the salt dip solution, could find it for you, if you were interested.

I'm sure the others here have different methods to share as well  Smiley
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2012, 06:59:36 AM »

It's usually enough to keep the plant in a bucket or a bowl for a week or two, making sure it gets light and some tank water every now and then. Should they ever carry parasites, they'll all be dead within that time since there are no hosts for them to live on.
Some plants can't handle a salt solution.
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2012, 08:39:23 AM »

Thanks folks

Nossie - d*mb question - do I submerge the plant in a bucket of water....or do I just keep the roots cover with water?

Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2012, 02:49:45 PM »

You keep the entire plant in the water, it will dry out and die otherwise... Wink

Some pond plants are okay with just the roots covered, but they shouldn't be kept in aquariums in that case Smiley
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2012, 08:18:17 AM »

Thank you Smiley
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2012, 02:31:15 PM »

Back with questions.  Lots of mixed opinion out there.....will an uncycled tank kill plants?  I wouldn't think so...plus I did buy special plant/aquarium food to add.

Second some board talk about the lights (for the plants) being to warm for goldfish.

What's your opinion?
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 821



Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2012, 02:52:36 PM »

I just run the plant under tap water. The chloride should kill off any bugs, Then if I suspect snails a quick dip in salt water to kill off snails ( common salt in high concentration) then a vigorous rinse in tank water , ten plant in the  tank. I've never had any problems, but then I buy from a specialist shop. Grin
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2012, 03:54:02 PM »

scrivens
Do you find your lights over heat the tank?
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 821



Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2012, 04:10:37 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
scrivens
Do you find your lights over heat the tank?
not really, as Goldies are temperate rather than true cold water

Fluorescent lights run much cooler than tungsten. If you were to have problems with excessive heat from lights you could try LED ( a bit pricey tho')
Logged
Skwishee
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 136
Posts: 1763



Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2012, 03:01:34 AM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
If you were to have problems with excessive heat from lights you could try LED ( a bit pricey tho')

LED is a bit pricey, but I believe it's running costs is much lower than fluorescent lighting  Smiley
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2012, 01:20:46 PM »

So here's my next question....I know how much watts I need for the tank, but my light fixture that came with the tank doesn't have enough wattage.  How do I find a fixture that takes two bulbs?  Doesnt seem like there's a lot out on the market. Either really expensive or cheap ones that take one bulb. Any input?
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 821



Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2012, 01:56:12 PM »

Are you after daylight, tropical or marine blue?

If you go for LED then Eco-Aqua LED lamps are pretty good;Eco-Aqua Lamps are sized to replace existing T8 lamps they are slightly shorter, to enable them to fit between the lamp holders of an existing fitting (or they can fit into the lamp holders with the optional adapter), and are supplied complete with a set of fixing clips for mounting to an aquarium hood or frame. Six lengths are available ranging from 384mm to 1147mm.

you need to measure length and if going for fluorescent you will need reflectors....or are you going to go open top, if so you can fix the lamps to the tank sides with angled brackets whitch may be adjusted to the length of your tank

can you not just swop-out the existing tube for a higher rated one? what make is your lamp set?
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #13 on: May 26, 2012, 09:33:56 AM »

I was looking for something reasonably priced...in the $50 to 60 range. I have an Aqueon tank kit.  The top has one flurescent bulb.  I can't get it out of top...but I believe it's a 15 watt. Need more than that. I can't seem to find more wattage in the bulb size.  But being a newbie I'm clueless and might be missing something.

I'm confused about LED. I thought they don't give off enough light for plants? 

How did you figure this out scrivens?
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 821



Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #14 on: May 26, 2012, 10:12:20 AM »

It shouldn't be a bulb, T8 aquarium lights are fluorescent tubes

remind me what your tank size is ? 2 x 15W would light a 90 L tank

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #15 on: May 26, 2012, 06:20:57 PM »

It's a 16 gallon tank.  Sorry I meant fluorescent...thats what is in the top currently.

The link...is that more about how even a low watt bulb can give off enough light? 
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 821



Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2012, 05:07:41 AM »

those size of tanks generally only come with one fitting in the hood. but sometimes have space for two.

 Since the Power output is  solely dependent on size, you can't change up to a more powerful lamp of the same size like you can with iridescent lamps . The only variable is colour temperature

You have little choice but to either add another tube, or change to LED. With a bigger/longer tank you have more room to mix and match T5/T8



the lamp power is dependent on size:-

Length (cm/inches)   
T5
54.9 / 22"          24 watt
84.9 / 34"          39 watt
114.9 / 46"   54 watt
144.9 / 60"   80 watt

Length (inches)   
T8
15"   15 watt
18"   15 watt
24"   20 watt
30"   25 watt
36"   30 watt
42"   40 watt
48"   40 watt
60"   58 watt


Here is a DIY guide to adding tubes to your aquarium hood(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
« Last Edit: May 27, 2012, 05:57:48 AM by scrivens345 » Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #17 on: May 28, 2012, 01:02:45 PM »

Got it.  Cheesy. Thanks for the info.

I bought a T8 15 watt for plants. The tank was really dark.  Huh  How can a bulb that encourages plant growth be so dim?

What do you use? LED?
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 90
Posts: 821



Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #18 on: May 28, 2012, 01:56:20 PM »

The higher the colour temperature (K) the deeper the light penetrates.

 On smaller aquaria , the single lamp provided is usually only for showing of your fish's colours.  A lamp with a low K rating emits redder light and exhibits more vivid colours than a lamp with a higher K rating (emitting bluer light). Normal-output fluorescent lamps are quite popular in fish-only aquaria.


 In the Freshwater Planted Aquarium , lamps should be used to provide the full spectrum range of light (5500 K to 7500 K), most plants require ( for photosynthesis).

 As a general rule, provide between 2 and 5 watts per gallon. For deeper  tanks the higher the higher figure is desirable.

I'll see if I can write a "lighting guide" if I get the time. My large tank has a fish lamp & a plant lamp
Logged
sajacobs
Full Member
***

Karma: 25
Posts: 224


Re: how to quarantine a plant
« Reply #19 on: May 28, 2012, 09:21:50 PM »

I thought cycling a tank was technical.....lighting hands down is complex.  Found a long article all about lighting.

Here's the link for those interested...
(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)

I'm assuming (from a newbie's knowledge) it's best to have a mix of bulbs?  One to light up for viewing.  Another for the plants.  I found a 20' light fixture that holds two T5 bulbs and is priced right Smiley

Any other info you have learned Scrivens?  That one bit of info you wish you had known when planting your tank?
Logged
Pages: [1]  
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Page created in 0.517 seconds with 17 queries.