Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 29, 2014, 05:44:46 AM
Home Search Search Login Register

+  Pet Goldfish - Aquarium Forum Community
|-+  Aquarium
| |-+  Tank and Equipment
| | |-+  Different substrate in the same tank?
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Different substrate in the same tank?  (Read 804 times)
Ken Belly
Newbie
*

Karma: 5
Posts: 20


Different substrate in the same tank?
« on: August 31, 2010, 02:36:44 PM »

Would it be ok to have two different makes of gravel in the same tank? The substrate is of the same size just a different brand?
Logged
Hanna
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 257
Posts: 3108


Re: Different substrate in the same tank?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2010, 05:21:51 PM »

Not a problem at all Wink

It needs to be washed and rinsed very good though
Logged
KingArt777
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 3
Posts: 80



Re: Different substrate in the same tank?
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2010, 05:24:01 PM »

substrate Huh
Logged
Hanna
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 257
Posts: 3108


Re: Different substrate in the same tank?
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2010, 05:41:57 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
substrate Huh

In the aquarists hobby we use the term "substrate" sometimes instead of gravel or sand.
Just another word / expression for it

But you also will find this word during your lessons in chemistry, physics etc; it means it is a substance like a composition of sth, like powder, paste, liquid, etc
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Different substrate in the same tank?
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2010, 01:05:06 AM »

You could even mix different sizes of the gravel if you want! Makes things look rather interesting Smiley My cousin has some rather fine gravel where the plants are growing, some coarser, and then something bigger than a pea, and they all look really nice together! But, do remember to clean it well under water before adding it to the tank, it's a great deal of pain to notice that it wasn't cleaned well enough when your tank is already filled with water, and all cloudy from the dust in the gravel.
Logged
Ken Belly
Newbie
*

Karma: 5
Posts: 20


Re: Different substrate in the same tank?
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2010, 02:15:08 AM »

Hello!

Thanks guys and gals!

Ben  Grin
Logged
Pages: [1]  
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Page created in 0.476 seconds with 17 queries.