Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
September 20, 2014, 02:54:08 AM
Home Search Search Login Register

+  Pet Goldfish - Aquarium Forum Community
|-+  Aquarium
| |-+  Tank and Equipment
| | |-+  Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2
Author Topic: Trying to get a grip on my water quality  (Read 1335 times)
teetsymomo
Full Member
***

Karma: 21
Posts: 120



Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« on: December 02, 2010, 06:32:54 PM »

I'm going crazy with my tank.
My water is crystal clear, my fish are so happy and I have not noticed any un-usual changes with them. They eat, they poop, they play, they say hello to me. My PH is low 6.4 (i added some PH stuff to raise it), but my ammonia is sky high. It's at 8.0. I've already done a 50% water change, added ammo lock and the numbers are still the same. Do you think this is due to my tank being only 5 gallons and having two small goldies in there?
Logged
Katarine
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 72
Posts: 1247



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2010, 06:38:04 PM »

Yes. 5 Gallons is much too small for two goldfish. How big is your filter? I would do more water changes more frequently. Two fish produce a LOT of waste very very quickly, and that adds up in a small tank
Logged
teetsymomo
Full Member
***

Karma: 21
Posts: 120



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2010, 06:52:15 PM »

the filter is a Aqua-tech 5-15
Logged
Katarine
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 72
Posts: 1247



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2010, 07:09:10 PM »

Kay. then the problem lies with the tank being too small for your fish. YOull need at least a twenty gallon to prevent this kind of thing from happening.


1 goldfish = ten gallons of water = happy goldfish = no ammonia spikes.
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2010, 07:31:03 PM »

Having added ammo lock, you have will still be getting a high reading but the ammo lock renders the toxic levels safe, you should be ok, however you need a bigger tank. I used it in an emergency situation once and quite honestly it left me stressed about the readings even with the knowledge that they were not toxic anymore.

The power filter you have (aqua tec 5-15) is just like the one that came with my aquarium kit that my Niece left with me. I had a single medium sized goldie in that 10 gallon and struggled constantly to stay on top of normal water conditions. It's hard to believe that one fish in that amount of water can pollute that much but you can't 'see' it happening. Until coming to this forum, I thought like many many do that all was fine. I quickly found out I had to do something quickly or I'd lose my precious little tank dweller. I also had to add a second power filter to that 10 gallon until a larger tank I purchased had completed cycling.
Logged
Mindemae
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 256
Posts: 2458



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2010, 08:41:56 PM »

Teetsy,
April is right that ammonia lock is giving you a high FALSE reading!!!!
Ammonia lock is crap IMO!
You were better off going with zeolite which will absorb some of the ammonia.  The zeolite can be added right to the filter media.
DO NOT USE ANY SALT IF YOU USE ZEOLITE AS THE SALT WILL MAKE AMMONIA LEECH FROM THE ZEOLITE BACK INTO THE WATER.
There are water condtioner that help CLEAR ammonia too.
I use zeolite in all my tanks when I first put fish in a newly cycled tank.
I agree with Kat and April, YOU NEED A BIGGER TANK or you will constantly battle water quality issues.
All you can do until you are able to get a bigger tank is do frquent water changes and add beneficial bacteria booster to your filter at EVERY water change!!! Smiley
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2010, 11:03:51 AM »

I completely agree with previous posts Smiley

Please don't add any more of the ammo lock!!
Logged
pappy-fish81
Full Member
***

Karma: 82
Posts: 413


Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2010, 04:59:13 PM »

If you can get Kordon Amquel Plus it's a good brand to use to deal with water quality problem.  Smiley
Logged
Hanna
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 257
Posts: 3108


Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2010, 03:51:44 AM »

Another good thing is Stability from Seachem: beneficial bacteria used as per instructions or if there is Ammonia present to add it every day, so the bacteria are plenty to cope with the nitrogens.

Also regular waterchanges according to the test results.
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2010, 05:39:56 PM »

I used the Stability and Prime in the new tank and it has been amazing this past week! Very little spikes (nothing greater than 0.5 on the charts). The best thing about these products is that you can use higher dosages in emergency situations without the fear of being toxic to fish.
Logged
teetsymomo
Full Member
***

Karma: 21
Posts: 120



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2010, 06:23:05 PM »

I'm so confused. I thought Ammolock was a good product. I have the Ph Regulator from Seacham and I was putting that in, but my ph hasn't t gotten higher than 6.6. I think it's at 6.4 right now. As long as my little babies are doing well, playing, eating and flourishing (I can't believe how big they've gotten), then I'm not going to worry so much at this point. Maybe they are just strong little pet shop boogers who are used to the elements.
Logged
Katarine
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 72
Posts: 1247



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2010, 10:39:27 PM »

Ammonia lock is not a great product, as I'm sure theres still a chance for the ammonia to get away on you. do regular water changes, and follow the advice given thus far. Smiley

Just because your fish "seem" fine doesnt always mean the are fine
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2010, 04:25:03 AM »

Your fish are most likely fighting off all kinds of infections, so you need to be careful with their environment. Don't meddle too much with the pH or anything, since something as small can make them go over the edge. And then the infection will flourish!!

Just keep an eye on the water quality, and change water accordingly, that should repair the levels naturally over time!
pH is a logarythmic scale, meaning that each point (for example: 6-7) actually is ten times bigger than the other! If you change it too suddenly, it won't be too nice for your fish in there. They're very sensitive to fluctuations in pH while they can tolerate a wide variety of levels as long as it stays constant!
Logged
teetsymomo
Full Member
***

Karma: 21
Posts: 120



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2010, 02:09:56 PM »

I'm actually going to be getting some water and gravel from a friend who has a thriving tank. Hopefully this will assist with getting my numbers where it should be. Ive read about using others gravel and I'm hoping it works before it's too late. I don't want o so anything to hurt my little darlings
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2010, 04:26:47 PM »

That might work! Smiley It speeds up the cycle process incredibly much to introduce beneficial bacteria from a mature system Smiley Ask if you can have some filter media too!
Logged
fantailer
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 122
Posts: 1629



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #15 on: December 06, 2010, 05:25:03 PM »

I use Amnoque and Stability drops. After that I use the gravel vac and a 50 % water change.
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #16 on: December 06, 2010, 06:04:22 PM »

(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.)
I'm so confused. I thought Ammolock was a good product. I have the Ph Regulator from Seacham and I was putting that in, but my ph hasn't t gotten higher than 6.6. I think it's at 6.4 right now. As long as my little babies are doing well, playing, eating and flourishing (I can't believe how big they've gotten), then I'm not going to worry so much at this point. Maybe they are just strong little pet shop boogers who are used to the elements.

Ammo lock is good but it comes with a pricetag in that you have to wait quite a while before it is purged from your system through multiple water changes. The frustrating part is of course every time you test ammonia you 'see' it appears high but it really isn't because it is 'locked' in a safe form. Don't worry about it now just carry on normally with usual water changes every week and in time it will level off again. I understand and went thru what you are to some degree, it will be ok Smiley You are doing a good job.
Logged
teetsymomo
Full Member
***

Karma: 21
Posts: 120



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2010, 06:29:03 PM »

I tried one more thing. I test my tap water. My ph is 7 and ammonia is 0. After, I did a 75% ?? water change. I removed 3 gallons from the 5 gallon tank. Added my Goldfish Protect and Stress-Ezyme (and nothing else). I waited an hour, tested my water and my ph was 6.5, and ammonia 8.0. Nitrates 0, Nitrites 0.  Hopefully by putting in my friends fish pooh/gravel, what-ever will fix this fast.  I want to thank all of you so much for your help and guidance. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin. I'm also going to hold off on a water change for a while. I'll at least let that gunk work for about a week or so. bye bye pretty water, hello yuckyness, but happy fish.
Logged
Mindemae
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 256
Posts: 2458



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #18 on: December 06, 2010, 07:33:28 PM »

Hi,
Sounds like a plan!!! Cheesy
See if you have high ammonia adding more beneficial bacteria to the filter makes sense, to "eat" the excess ammonia!
You're doing a great job and things will turn out good soon! Cheesy
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #19 on: December 07, 2010, 11:30:58 AM »

Yeah, you're doing great Smiley Keep us posted on the progress! Smiley
Logged
teetsymomo
Full Member
***

Karma: 21
Posts: 120



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #20 on: December 07, 2010, 06:43:47 PM »

I decided to test my friends water prior to putting some of it and the gravel in my tank. Her ammonia is sky high. I did put the gravel in though and I added more beneficial bacteria directly to the filter media. Normally I've been just adding it directly into the tank.  I have another person bringing me gravel and some water tomorrow. I'll test her water first as well. The strange thing is, the Master Test kit says I'm at 8.0, the dipstick says I'm in danger and the seachem ammonia thing that hangs on the tank went from high alert to a light greenish blue. This is so confusing. I wish my little babies would tell me if it's bothering them.

I'm going out on Christmas eve day to pick up my new tank (I had to make arrangements with my father to borrow his ugly SUV)  Grin. I am going to make sure this tank is cycled perfectly before I move my little munchkins into the big tank, but I'm so afraid that I'm not going to cycle it correctly.
Logged
Mindemae
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 256
Posts: 2458



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #21 on: December 07, 2010, 06:51:42 PM »

You are doing a great job. Smiley
When you get your new friends gravel add beneficial bacteria right to it before you put it in the tank.
This will help too! Wink
You will love your new tank and it will cycle just fine!
Which one did you decide to get?
The beautiful Marineland with the led lights?
 Cheesy
Logged
Katarine
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 72
Posts: 1247



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #22 on: December 07, 2010, 06:53:47 PM »

Don't you worry about a thing, sweetheart. You're new tank will cycle beautifully, and your fish will be very very happy. I'm Glad you are getting a new tank, Please post pics when it's all set up!! Cheesy
Logged
teetsymomo
Full Member
***

Karma: 21
Posts: 120



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #23 on: December 07, 2010, 07:19:26 PM »

Yes, I'm getting the marineland 60 gallon.
(Link is not visible to guests. Please register to view.) What filter should I get? I was thinking about the "Marineland Penguin Bio Wheel filter"  if they sell it.  I will most definitely be taking pictures!
Logged
Mindemae
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 256
Posts: 2458



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #24 on: December 07, 2010, 07:27:00 PM »

Do some research.  You might want a canister external filter?
My sister had a bio-wheel and the thing does clog up so you have to keep a close eye on it.
She went out of town and it stopped working and she lost some of her fish.. Sad
I really don't know anything about them.  I've never owned one.
My personal favorites are the aqueon power filters and the fluval canister filters.
Both are really easy to use have a great gallons per hour water turn over, are super quiet and cycle a tank with no problems!
Well that is a gorgeous tank!!  You will love it! Wink
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #25 on: December 07, 2010, 09:35:38 PM »

I tried both the Aqueon brand and the Tetra Whisper EX70 hang on side power filters. Both are excellent machines however, I found the Aqueon a little more noisy (dripping water sound) but it's suction and water movement were super! So if you're not sleeping next to your aquarium, definetly consider either of these. The tetra whisper was super quiet and also a great product. I liked the media that came with that one. I ended up forking over the dough for a rena filstar xp1 and it is virtually silent. The only gripe I had with it was getting the tubing hoses on. This is a good thing though as you want the tightest possible fit. I found soaking the hoses in hotter water softened the ends enough but still worked up a sweat squeezing them on  Grin
Logged
Mindemae
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 256
Posts: 2458



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #26 on: December 07, 2010, 09:56:32 PM »

Between the Aqueon and the tetra EX ; I have the ex 45, the Aqueon is by far a much better filter.  It's GPH is higher and the tetra is just more flimsy IMO....cheaply made.  The filters are a pain to put in and pull out after you rinse them...they're just a pain, they don't fit right in the holder thing.  The Aqueon is sturdy and everything fits well.  The Aqueon does have the wet to dry trickle down effect but that doesn't make any noise once the aquarium is filled, at least mine doesn't.
There are alot of filters out there.  And it probably comes down to personal preference too. Smiley
Logged
April
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 133
Posts: 819


Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #27 on: December 08, 2010, 12:09:22 AM »

Now that I think of it Minde, the tetra whisper ex20 I had tried, a piece broke off it before even plugging it in and the cartridge was difficult to seat. The EX70 was far better. Just trying to remember if there is anything else. Oh! I also have and am very happy with an Aqua Clear 20 running in tandem with an Aqua Tec 5-15. The Aqua Clear has improved it's design since I last used them over 15 years ago. There is now a very porous substance you place in a mesh bag that comes with it that acts as the bio filter allowing all the good bacteria to adhere to every spec of it's surface. Much better and extremely quiet.
Logged
pappy-fish81
Full Member
***

Karma: 82
Posts: 413


Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #28 on: December 08, 2010, 12:29:36 AM »

Hello teetsymomo Smiley
I'm currently using the Marineland Emperor 400 I have 2 in my 75 gallon and one of each in my 55 gallon tanks. I like this filter so much  since I've been using it I never had problems with ammonia and nitrite. Wink
Logged
Mindemae
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 256
Posts: 2458



Re: Trying to get a grip on my water quality
« Reply #29 on: December 08, 2010, 12:52:03 AM »

The Aqua Clear is a very good filter too.
It has the same concept as the external canister filters.
It's made by Hagen who also makes the Fluval canister filter which I love.

I'm not familiar with Marineland filters at all.
I love their versa glass tops and led lighting.
I have those on most of my tanks. Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Page created in 0.377 seconds with 16 queries.