Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2014, 12:48:17 PM
Home Search Search Login Register

+  Pet Goldfish - Aquarium Forum Community
|-+  Aquarium
| |-+  Tank and Equipment
| | |-+  Would this work?
« previous next »
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Would this work?  (Read 506 times)
cheri_alexander
Full Member
***

Karma: 56
Posts: 524



Would this work?
« on: January 21, 2012, 06:11:31 PM »

So I want to get the Aqueon water-change siphon thing...but I am worried about correctly dosing the water conditioner. What if I drew measuring lines on the corner of the tank and then, using the volume calculating formula, figured out the volume of just the top 2/3 or so...is there any reason why that wouldn't work? Should I subract any for ornaments and gravel? Forgive me if I am over-thinking the situation but I usually dose exactly using five-gallon buckets.
Logged
Dragonii
Full Member
***

Karma: 84
Posts: 281


Re: Would this work?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2012, 02:56:30 AM »

Overthinking, maybe, but thatís ok. Just treat for a bit over what you figure you replace.

Example, I change 25% when I do water changes in my cichlid tank. I have a very small mark on the corner to let me know where 1/4 of the tank is, not an exact science, just 1/4 or the tank height. 25% of the tank volume should be a bit less than 40 gallons. I treat for about 50 gallons when I refill the tank. Been doing it for over a year in that tank and so far it works just fine.
Logged
Nossie
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 481
Posts: 5469



Re: Would this work?
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2012, 05:05:20 AM »

I rarely calculate the amount of water I change even if I use buckets! It depends which conditioner I use. When I use the Easy Life, I add a full dosage (meaning, the whole tank volume) and if I use the Sera one, I dose each bucket separately. It really doesn't have to be that accurate since a small amount of extra water conditioner won't be bad! My kinds are both the type that you can add more of in case you have new or sick fish Smiley

Sounds like Dragoniis method is really good! Smiley
Logged
scrivens345
Sr. Member
****

Karma: 89
Posts: 820



Re: Would this work?
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2012, 03:10:19 PM »

I'm with Nossie

when I use tapsafe , I dose per bucket, and when i use Easybalance I dose for the whole tank



..simples Grin
Logged
ladygold
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 10


Re: Would this work?
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2012, 11:41:04 AM »

cheri_alexander, have you purchased the aqueon water changer yet? I know this is a bit of an old post, hopefully you'll see it... I'm considering getting the same changer and would love to know your review on it.
Logged
Pages: [1]  
« previous next »
Jump to:  
Page created in 0.205 seconds with 16 queries.